Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RIBA Stirling Prize 2015: meet the judges

  • Comment

Meet the judges who will pick this years RIBA Stirling Prize 2015 winning building

Peter Clegg


Senior partner, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, 2008 RIBA Stirling Prize joint winner

Peter established Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios with Richard Feilden in 1978. Regarded as a pioneer in environmental design, he has more than 30 years’ experience designing low-energy architecture. Peter works primarily in the education and cultural sectors. He has led projects at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, London’s Southbank Centre, Brighton Dome and the Leventis Gallery in Cyprus, as well as many schools and higher education projects. He has chaired the RIBA Awards Group and the South West Design Review Panel, holds a professorship at Bath University, and in 2009 was made a Royal Designer for Industry. Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios was joint winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2008 with Maccreanor Lavington and Alison Brooks for Accordia, Cambridge.

Jane Duncan


Director, Jane Duncan Architects, RIBA president and chair, RIBA Stirling Prize jury

Jane is the president of the RIBA. She trained at the Bartlett and set up Jane Duncan Architects in 1992. Her Amersham-based, award-winning practice employs 17 architects and interior designers. She has been a small practice champion at the RIBA, and for six years was its vice-president for practice and profession and an RIBA Board member. Since 2013 she has also been the RIBA’s equality and diversity champion. Jane lives in a hemp eco-house she designed for her family six years ago.

Rory Olcayto


Editor, The Architects’ Journal

Rory is an award-winning journalist and critic, and editor of The Architects’ Journal. Before his career in journalism, he studied architecture at the University of Strathclyde, worked in practice in Glasgow, Liège and Istanbul, and was a designer in the video games industry. He also led a first-year design studio at Strathclyde University for two years. Today he is a guest critic at a number of UK and Irish universities. Rory is a frequent contributor to newspaper, radio and television features on architectural matters and regularly speaks at industry and public events.

Theresa Sackler



Theresa was a primary school teacher in London for seven years. She serves on the boards of several family pharmaceutical companies, and is a trustee of the Dr Mortimer and Theresa Sackler Foundation, The Sackler Trust, Capital City Academy in Brent, the Victoria and Albert Museum and Tate Foundation. She was presented with the 2011 Prince of Wales Medal for Arts Philanthropy, in recognition of her contribution to the nation’s cultural life. Theresa is interested in the environment, studied horticulture, and breeds Highland cattle and Hebridean and Portland sheep.

Steve Tompkins


Director, Haworth Tompkins, 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize Winner

Steve is director of Haworth Tompkins and has led all the studio’s performance-related projects. These include the Royal Court, Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, the Bath Egg, the Oxford North Wall, the Bush, the Young Vic, Snape Maltings, Donmar Dryden Street, Chichester Festival Theatre, the RIBA Stirling Prize-winning Everyman Theatre in Liverpool and the recent regeneration of the National Theatre on London’s South Bank, which was ‘midlisted’ for this year’s RIBA Stirling Prize. He has taught and lectured extensively, is a trustee of the Young Vic theatre, sits on the theatre steering group Julie’s Bicycle and is a member of urbanist and artist network Theatrum Mundi.


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.