Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Revealed: the Doolan 2013 shortlist

  • Comment

The AJ can reveal the 12-strong shortlist vying for the largest cash prize in British architecture: the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award

The shortlist is made up of all the projects to have received RIAS Awards 2013. The dozen schemes will now go on to be considered for the £25,000 Doolan Prize which is announced in November.

The judging panel, which had to whittle down 25 longlisted schemes, included RIAS president Iain Connelly, Joyce Deans, Lori McElroy, Kathy Li of the Mackintosh School of Architecture and Roger Stephenson, representing the Royal Institute of British Architects.

More than 70 schemes were initially submitted for the awards.

Iain Connelly, president of the RIAS, commented: ‘75 submissions from throughout Scotland, ranging in cost from zero to over £30 million is a tremendous vote of confidence. It absolutely confirms that this award, in only its second year, is now the single most important recognition of architectural achievement in Scotland.’

The full list of RIAS Awards 2013

The Beacon Arts Centre by LDN Architects

The Chapel of Saint Albert the Great by Simpson & Brown Architects

Dunfermline High School by Fife Council Property Services

Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education - Stirling Campus by Reiach and Hall Architects

Ghost of Water Row by Edo Architecture

Lenzie House by Cameron Webster Architects

4 Linsiadar by studioKAP

Mareel by Gareth Hoskins Architects

The Sir Duncan Rice Library by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects

Thomas Telford Parliamentary Church Berneray by Patience & Highmore Architects

The Turf House by Rural Design

WASPS South Block by NORD Architecture

Of the 12 projects receiving RIAS Awards, five have won RIBA Awards: The Chapel of Saint Albert the Great by Simpson & Brown Architects, Reiach and Hall Architects’ Forth Valley College of Further and Higher Education, 4 Linsiadar by studioKAP, Mareel by Gareth Hoskins Architects and the Sir Duncan Rice Library by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects.

A separate jury will be convened to judge the Doolan Prize later this year. The winner will be announced on 7 November, at a ceremony at the Scottish Parliament.


Previously the RIAS co-ordinated RIBA Awards for Scotland. However last year, for the first time the incorporation launched its own award scheme. Entries to these awards are also eligible for RIBA Awards for Scotland.

In order to simplify and improve the awards process in Scotland, the RIAS Council, in agreement with the RIBA, established a new, ‘one-stop’, submission process. Entries submitted are now eligible to win the new RIAS Awards, RIBA Awards for Scotland and RIBA Special Awards. Winners will also be eligible for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award and the RIBA Stirling Prize.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.