Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Revealed: finalists for 2014 RIBA President’s Awards for Research

  • Comment

Tonkin Lui, Baca Architects and past head of Sheffield School of Architecture Flora Samuel are among those in the running for this year’s President’s Awards for Research

Students from the Architectural Association, University College London, the University of Sheffield and Cambridge University are also up for the prestigious prizes.

This year saw the second highest number of entries to the annual awards - with the shortlisted entrants fighting off fierce competition from 45 entrants.

The accolades recognise ‘high-quality research and encourage its distribution and incorporation into the wider profession’.

The shortlists in full:

RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding Master’s Degree Thesis

  • Juan Montoliu Hernandez of the Architectural Association: CRISIS Architecture: Colonizing existing concrete structures
  • Carlo Menon of University College London: The missing decade? Architectural magazines of the 1990s
  • Stephen Gage of the University of Cambridge: Repurposed pasts? Architecture and identity in the Gothic revival university
  • Xiang Ren of the University of Sheffield: Stereotomics, tectonics and material presence: studies of the vernacular architecture of Hui Prefecture of China

RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis

  • Bo Tang of London Metropolitan University: Negotiating shared spaces in informal peri-urban settlements in North India: collaborative architectural making as a catalyst for civic empowerment and social change
  • Emma Cheatle of University College London: Part-architecture: the Maison de Verre through the large glass
  • Tom Bridgen of the University of Newcastle: The protected vista: an intellectual and cultural history, as seen from Richmond Hill

RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding University-located Research

  • Barbara Penner of University College London: Bathroom
  • Flora Samuel of the University of Sheffield et al.: Home improvements
  • Jian Kang, Hongseok Yang, Yuliya Smyrnowa and Chris Cheal of the University of Sheffield: Greening buildings for noise control
  • Adam Sharr of the University of Newcastle and Stephen Thornton of the University of Cardiff: Demolishing Whitehall: Leslie Martin, Harold Wilson and the architecture of white heat
  • Maurice Mitchell of London Metropolitan University and Bo Tang and Shamoon Patwari of Cass Projects: The architecture of three Freetown neighbourhoods: documenting changing city topographies 2008-2013
  • Ben Campkin of University College London: Remaking London: decline and regeneration in urban culture

RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding Practice-located Research

  • Mike Tonkin and Anna Liu of Tonkin Liu: Shell Lace Structure
  • Robert Barker of Baca Architects et al.: The Climate Adaptive Neighbourhoods (CAN) project
  • Michael Stacey, Laura Gaskell, Jenny Grewcock and Ben Stanforth of Michael Stacey Architects: Prototyping Architecture

Commenting on the shortlists, chair of the judging panel, Ruth Morrow, of Queen’s University Belfast, said: ‘This year’s shortlist was drawn from the second highest number of entries in the history of the Awards and displays a remarkably diverse range of work. The panel now have some excellent reading to do over the summer and the difficult but pleasurable task of allocating the awards in September.’

Last year the awards were picked up by eco-architect Bill Dunster, and students from the Bartlett School of Architecture and Sheffield University.

The winners of the awards will be announced in October.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.