Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Part One Holly Hayward wins KPF/AF Student Travel Award

  • Comment

Holly Hayward, a Part One graduate from the University of Brighton, has won this year’s KPF/AF Student Travel Award.

The award, sponsored by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (KPF) and organised by the Architecture Foundation (AF), is now in its 7th year.

The award is intended to support British Architecture’s emerging talent by encouraging new creative thinking and engagement in international research.

This year’s theme asked students to investigate Work/Life Patterns of the Future, and demonstrate outstanding insight in to the future of our cities; patterns of how we work and live, and how this will affect or be informed by the design of buildings and urban spaces.

Hayward won first prize for her submission ‘Cooking up the Collective’, which examines the relationship between food production and consumption within urban contexts.

She will receive a bursary of £1,750 to fund further research into urban food growing practices through travel to Detroit, USA and Marrakesh, Morocco as well as a summer work placement at KPF’s office in London.

Ben Reynolds, a 4th year diploma student at the Architectural Association was awarded the second prize of £1,250 plus a work placement. His project was entitled ‘The City and the Agency of Architecture’. He will use his bursary to travel to Beijing and Tianjin, China to study the effects of increased land privatisation within rapidly shifting rural - to - urban environments.

This year’s jury included KPF Principals John Bushell and Mustafa Chehabeddine; Russell Craig, Public Sector Manager at Cisco Systems; James Sellar, CEO of Sellar Properties and Sarah Ichioka, Director, The Architecture Foundation - along with Nandi Han, 2010 1st place winner of the award.

Commenting on the entries and the judging process, KPF Principal Mustafa Chehabeddine said: ‘The selection process this year was more engaging than ever and as the topic, was broader, the submissions varied dramatically both in terms of subject matter and location.’

The Jury benefited from the addition of members from client bodies which resulted in interesting discussions about architecture, with its self proclaimed role of social responsiveness, and the practicality of some of the solutions proposed in the submissions.’

At the end the consensus was in favour of the two submissions that best dealt with the topic with in-depth analysis as well as clear graphics’.

Sarah Ichioka, Director, The Architecture Foundation said: ‘We are delighted to continue our relationship with KPF in producing this annual Student Travel Award as part of The Architecture Foundation’s ongoing mission to identify and cultivate the UK’s next generation of architectural talent and to encourage international exchange.’

The winners of the award will present the results of their travel research and further travel research at an event held at the Architecture Foundation in October 2011. Students who received jury commendations for their entries will also exhibit their work at that time.

The schemes awarded commendations are:

  • Teo Boonting “Reforming Taipei Mai Station”, The Bartlett;
  • Abbey Oklak “New Culture for Building”, University of Wales;
  • Vershae Crawley “Re-Urbanising Palestine”, University of Westminster;
  • Linda Hagberg “Barrio Agriculture and Composting”, The Bartlett; and
  • Nora Nilsen “Natatio Urbem” from The Architectural Association.
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.