Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Zaha shortlisted in Melbourne station comp

  • Comment

Zaha Hadid, Grimshaw and Herzog and de Meuron have been named among the six finalists in the international competition to rejuvenate Melbourne’s Flinders Street Station

The shortlist also includes Australian practices Ashton Raggatt McDougall, NH Architecture and Columbians Eduardo Veasquez, Manuel Pineda and Santiago Medina from the University of Melbourne.

Nearly 120 entries were received for the competition, which asked for designs to address the station’s transport function, heritage requirements, urban design context. A fifth of architects registering for the competition, run by the State Government of Victoria were from the UK.

Denis Napthine, Australian minister for major projects, said: ‘This competition has always been about finding the best local and international talent to re-invigorate Melbourne’s iconic Flinders Street Station precinct and looking at this shortlist I think we’ve managed to do that.

‘The short list covers some of the world’s best architects such as Hassell + Herzog & De Meuron and Zaha Hadid, renowned local firms Ashton Raggatt McDougall and NH Archtiecture and emerging talents Eduardo Velasquez, Manuel Pineda and Santiago Medina from Columbia.

‘Between them, this group is responsible for some of Melbourne and the world’s most renowned buildings including Hamer Hall, Beijing’s National Stadium used in the 2008 Olympics and Rome’s Museum of XXI Century Arts.

‘Judging from their previous work this is a very exciting group of architects and I am looking forward to finding out more about their visions for the Flinders Street Station precinct.’

The shortlisted entrants now have six months to work up their proposals, before the second stage of the competition closes in July 2013.

The finalists

  • Ashton Raggatt McDougall (Melbourne)
  • John Wardle Architects (Australia) + Grimshaw (UK)
  •  HASSELL (Melbourne) + Herzog & de Meuron (Switzerland)
  •  NH Architecture (Melbourne)
  •  Eduardo Velasquez + Manuel Pineda + Santiago Medina of Columbia via the University of Melbourne
  •  Zaha Hadid Architecture (UK) & BVN Architecture (Melbourne)

Subscribe to AJ for £3 per week

Subscribe today and receive 47 issues of the magazine, 12 issues of AJ Specification and full access to TheAJ.co.uk and the AJ Buildings Library

Are you a student?

Students can subscribe to the AJ for £8 per month or £1.60 per week! Click here to start receiving the most recommended magazine for architecture students


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs