Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Winner of AJ/Curtins Inspiring Graduate Prize announced

  • Comment

Irina Korneychuk from FaulknerBrowns has won the 2017 Inspiring Graduate Prize.

The prize, now in its third year, is run by the AJ and engineering consultant Curtins. It recognises an entrepreneurial Part 1 or Part 2 architecture graduate who has made a significant impact on an architecture practice’s business or is demonstrating good business sense on an independent project.

Korneychuk who was born in Russia and now works for FaulknerBrowns in Newcastle, wins £1,000 and a forthcoming profile in the AJ. Her victory was announced at today’s AJ100 Breakfast event at London’s Claridge’s ahead of a talk on the Pompidou Centre by Richard Rogers.

Korneychuk was described by the judges as a truly inspiring individual and an all-rounder who inspired and empowered other people and even helped her practice to win a project worth more than £50 million.

She was chosen over three other strong shortlisted contenders: Ben Robinson from Hawkins\Brown, Robyn Poulson from BDP and Reggie Reynolds of Mitzman Architects.

Curtins winner aj100 november 2017 (6)

Curtins winner aj100 november 2017 (6)

The prize is inspired by the ethos of Curtins’ late founder Bill Curtin. As he once said of the firm he founded: ‘Youngsters can run this company. All they need is a guiding hand, to be encouraged, enthused, and then to be given their heads.’

The 2017 prize was assessed by a judging panel comprising Paul Menzies and Corrine Harris of Curtins, David Stansfield from Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Emma Cariaga of British Land and Will Hurst from the AJ.

Last year the prize was jointly won by Charlotte Knight of FCBS and Jayne Rosen of Tony Meadows Associates. The previous year it was won by Vanessa Lee of BuckleyGrayYeoman. 

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs