Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Rogers joins Pritzker Prize jury

  • Comment

Richard Rogers has become the latest addition to the judging panel for the international Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Rogers, who was 2007’s Pritzker laureate, joins current judges Lord Peter Palumbo, Alejandro Aravena, Stephen Breyer, Yung Ho Chang, Kristin Feireiss, Glenn Murcutt, Benedetta Tagliabue, and Ratan N. Tata.

Tom Pritzker, president of prize sponsor the Hyatt Foundation, praised Rogers’ understanding of architecture ‘in its larger context’ and his commitment to its role in the creation of livable cities.

He added: ‘Richard’s humanist perspective will make a substantial contribution to the jury and the message that is the core of the prize.’

Rogers, whose practice announced this week it was moving its headquarters into the Cheesegrater, said he was honoured to be invited to join the jury.

‘I continue to be inspired by architects from around the world, and it will be thrilling to be able to review the best of the best with my fellow jurors,’ he said.

The Pritzker Prize honours living architects whose built work demonstrates talent, vision, and commitment that has ‘produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture’.

Shigeru Ban is the current laureate. His 2015 successor is scheduled to be announced in March.

Previous story (AJ 28.03.07)

Rogers wins Pritzker…

Richard Rogers has won the most prestigious accolade in architecture - the Pritzker Prize.

The 73 year old becomes the fourth British-based architect to scoop the award since the Prizker was founded in 1979, following in the footsteps of James Stirling, Norman Foster and Zaha Hadid.

The international honour caps an impressive 12 months for Rogers, who landed the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice Biennale last September before bagging the Stirling Prize for his Madrid Barajas Airport a month later.

Rogers will be officially handed his prize - a $100,000 (£50,000) grant and a Louis Sullivan-designed Bronze Medallion - at a ceremony in London in June.

Rogers said: ‘I am extremely happy and proud to be named as the 2007 Laureate. The Pritzker Architecture Prize is a great honour for an architect and architecture.’

Pritzker Prize jury chairman, Lord Palumbo, believes the architect fully deserves his accolade. He said: ‘Throughout his distinguished career of more than 40 years, Richard Rogers has consistently pursued the highest goals for architecture.

‘Key Rogers projects already represent defining moments in the history of contemporary architecture. The Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris (1971-1977), designed in partnership with Renzo Piano, revolutionised museums, transforming what had once been elite monuments into popular places of social and cultural exchange, woven into the heart of the city.

‘Lloyd’s of London in the City of London (1978-1986), another landmark of late-20th-century design, established Richard Rogers’ reputation as a master not only of the large urban building, but also of his own brand of architectural expressionism.’

Palumbo added: ‘As these buildings and other subsequent projects, such as the recently completed and acclaimed Terminal 4, Barajas Airport in Madrid (1997-2005) demonstrate, a unique interpretation of the Modern Movement’s fascination with the building as machine; an interest in architectural clarity and transparency; the integration of public and private spaces; and a commitment to flexible floor plans that respond to the ever-changing demands of users are recurring themes in his work.’

Read the AJ’s interview with the victorious Richard Rogers at www.ajplus.co.uk/interviews/rogers

by Richard Waite

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.