Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

RIBA launches Neave Brown award for best new housing

  • Comment

The RIBA has launched an award named after social housing pioneer Neave Brown aimed at championing the best of British housing

All 2019 RIBA Regional Award-winning housing projects containing 10 or more homes and completed after October 2016 will be eligible for the new Neave Brown Award for Housing.

Schemes must also include at least one-third affordable housing and should ’demonstrate evidence of meeting the challenge of housing affordability’.

The prize has been named in honour of the late Neave Brown, who died last year and designed some of Britain’s most imaginative post-war public housing including Alexandra Road in Camden.

In 2018, the socially motivated, Modernist architect was awarded the UK’s highest honour for architecture, the Royal Gold Medal for Architecture.

Launching the new prize, RIBA president Ben Derbyshire said: ‘It is an honour to announce a new, very special RIBA award dedicated to the late Neave Brown.

‘Neave’s contribution to housing will not be forgotten. He was a passionate pioneer who sought radical housing solutions to improve the lives of the local communities he served, and much can be learnt from his work.’

Derbyshire added: ‘According to RIBA research, in some parts of the country, just one in five people would choose to live in a newly built home. Architects, developers and local authorities must design and build homes that people want and this country desperately needs.

‘I have high hopes that this new award will play a role in raising the bar and recognising good-quality, sustainable housing that will meet the needs of current and future generations.’

The six-strong shortlist for the inaugural Neave Brown Award for Housing will be announced on Thursday 25 July 2019 and the winner revealed at the RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony in October 2019.

This year’s RIBA Awards are open for entries until Thursday 21 February. 

Neave Brown Award for Housing – judging criteria

Housing projects will be considered for the Neave Brown Award for Housing if they meet the following criteria:

  • They are a winner of a 2019 RIBA Regional Award
  • They contain 10 or more homes completed and occupied between 1 November 2016 and 1 February 2019.
  • At least one-third of the housing is affordable 
  • They demonstrate evidence of meeting the challenge of housing affordability
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.