Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RIBA launches call for President's Awards entries

  • Comment

The RIBA has opened a three-week window for submissions to its 2015 President’s Awards for Research, designed to recognise academic and professional achievement across the industry

Entries are sought for four categories of research: University and professional research organisations, practice, PhD students, and master’s students.

The 2015 awards will include a new President’s Research Medal award, which will be given to the best work from across the four categories.

Anne Dye, RIBA head of technical research, said the awards promoted research and researchers that contributed new knowledge and understanding to the architecture profession.

‘They highlight the need for knowledge and insight that nurtures innovation, quality, value and strategic thinking,’ she said.

‘This year we have widened the eligibility to include research from across the built environment and beyond, better reflecting the diverse interdisciplinary nature of architectural research.’

RIBA president Stephen Hodder said the inaugural President’s Medal for Research would help to underscore the importance of research to the industry.

Applications are accepted until 5pm on June 8.

Entry forms and further details are available at www.riba.org.uk.

Previous story (AJ 03.12.2014)

The Bartlett wins the top RIBA students’ award - again

The Bartlett School of Architecture has topped the RIBA President’s Medals for the second year running

Bartlett student Nick Elias picked up the prestigious Silver Medal for his postgraduate project entitled ‘PoohTown’. The scheme looked at the ‘happy fictitious world’ of AA Milne’s stories, and applied these concepts to the planning of Slough.

In 2013, the Bartlett, part of University College London, took all three of the President’s Medals in an unprecedented clean sweep, which caused surprise among some tutors (AJ 04.12.13).

This year, accolades also went to students from Kingston in south-west London and the University of Sydney.

Simon Dean of Kingston University won the Bronze Medal for best Part 1 project. He proposed a bathhouse on a quarry carved into rock created by solidified lava, which erupted from Mount Vesuvius in 1944.

The Dissertation Medal was awarded to Jasper Ludewig for Made Ground: A Spatial History of Sydney Park. His dissertation, completed at the University of Sydney, was a case study of ‘spatial history’, a method of historical inquiry developed by Australian-based geographer, historian and architectural theorist Paul Carter.

RIBA president Stephen Hodder said: ‘[The winners’] talent and hard work remind us all of the important part that architecture plays in creating a better world and the key role performed by the architect in the process.

‘Without a doubt, the projects deserve to be rewarded not only for their accomplished words, images and models, but also for revealing the intellectual and experiential dimension architecture brings to daily life.’

The winning students, who each win £2,000, saw off entries from more than 300 schools of architecture to win the medals, which were first awarded in 1836.


Silver Medal

  • Justin Cawley from the University of Sydney for ‘An Ark for Endangered Atmospheres’
  • Yannis Halkiopoulos from the University of Westminster for ‘Brooklyn Co-operative’
  • Louis Sullivan from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘The Living Dam’

Bronze Medal

  • Samuel Little from London Metropolitan University for ‘City Frame: The reappropriation of Maple House’
  • Emily Priest from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘Rong Xhan Safehouse’
  • Ho Yeung (Howell) Tsang from the University of Hong Kong for ‘Urban Living Transition: Vanishing heritage of Hong Kong residence’

Dissertation Medal

  • Ekaterina Tikhoniouk from University College Dublin for ‘Towards a Common Ground for Play: Examining the history of play and playgrounds in Dublin’s Liberties’
  • Leon Fenster from the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for ‘Exilic Landscapes: Synagogues and Jewish architectural identity in 1870s Britain’


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs