Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

RIBA kicks off awards scheme for 2008

  • Comment
The search for next year’s RIBA Stirling Prize winner has begun, just two months after David Chipperfeld’s Museum of Modern Literature (pictured) scooped the coveted title.
UK practices are being urged to submit projects of ‘architectural excellence’ into the new pyramid-style RIBA Awards scheme, supported by The Architects’ Journal, which will peak with the presentation of the Stirling Prize in October 2008.

The year kicks off with the RIBA Awards, judged and presented locally, before stepping up a level for the RIBA National Awards. The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is selected following further appraisal of winners of the RIBA Awards and RIBA European Awards.

The Lubetkin Prize, supported by the AJ’s sister title The Architectural Review, is drawn from winners of the RIBA International Awards for buildings in the rest of the world.

From 2008, the RIBA Stirling Prize goes back to its roots as a ‘built or designed in Britain’ prize. This means only RIBA Award-winning buildings in the UK by RIBA chartered members and international fellows, or buildings in the EU by practices headquartered in the UK, will be considered. Eligibility for all awards up to Stirling Prize level remains unchanged.

The move is designed to strengthen British ties with the prize, according to Tony Chapman, the RIBA's head of awards.

Commenting on the awards’ pyramid structure, introduced in 2007, Chapman added: ‘[It] better reflects the diversity of architectural practice by its members. These important changes, together with the demand for energy-performance figures, mean that the awards programme will continue to set ever higher standards for architecture for its members and to promote the results to the public.’
  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.