Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Revealed: Winners of RIBA West Midlands Regional Awards

  • Comment

Projects by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Architype and Sjölander da Cruz Architects have picked up 2015 RIBA West Midlands Regional Awards

The five winning schemes include local practice KKE Architects’ hospice with a ‘pleasantly idiosyncratic character’ in Stourbridge and a ‘striking addition to Telford town centre’ by Associated Architects, which also landed the practice’s Rupert Walshe the Architect of the Year Prize.

Passivhaus projects made up two of the West Midlands winning schemes - Sjölander da Cruz Architects’ ‘elegantly simple’ retrofit of a market garden packing shed into its own offices and a ‘highly legible’ archive building by Architype.  

The region’s top award went to Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios’ £6 million transformation of the grade II*-listed Middleport Pottery in Stoke-on-Trent.

Speaking about the project, which also went on to pick up the Conservation Award, the judges said: ‘This is an unusual architectural award-winning project as at first glance it is difficult to see what work has been undertaken and yet this is a measure of its success in meeting the client’s objective of restoration with a light touch.’

RIBA West Midlands Award winners

  • Archive & Record Centre, Hereford by Architype
  • The Mary Stevens Hospice, Stourbridge by KKE Architects
  • Middleport Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios 
  • River Studio, Warwickshire by Sjolander da Cruz Architects
  • Southwater One, Telford by Associated Architects

Middleport Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Middleport Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Special Awards winners

  • Building of the Year Middleport Pottery by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios 
  • Project Architect of the Year Rupert Walshe of Associated Architects
  • Client of the Year Telford and Wrekin Council for Southwater One
  • Sustainability Award River Studio by Sjolander da Cruz Architects
  • Conservation Award Middleport Pottery by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios 
  • Small Project Award The Mary Stevens Hospice by KKE Architects

Jury chair Phil Howl of Worcestershire firm Howl Associates, said: ‘The 2015 Jury had a fascinating and varied collection of buildings to visit. Many were commissioned at the depth of the recession in what must have been demanding circumstances and doubtless with challenging budgets.

‘It was therefore very rewarding to see how the architects had worked creatively with their clients to extract the greatest potential from their budgets to produce such well-crafted and thoughtful buildings.

‘Sustainability was high on the agenda and the fact that several of the buildings had become catalysts for regeneration of an area demonstrates the wider value that great architecture can achieve.’

The winning schemes will now all go on to be considered for national awards with the lucky winners announced in June.

Those collecting national awards will then be running for the 2015 Stirling Prize.


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs