Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Revealed: Winners of RIBA North East Regional Awards

  • Comment

Just two projects in the North East have picked up 2015 RIBA Regional Awards

A £50 million centre for medical health patients which ‘connects to the landscape’ by Medical Architecture and LA Architects’ ‘well-planned’ seafront scheme featuring a tourist information centre, performance space, conference spaces and a café are the only two schemes in the North East to pick up accolades in this year’s awards.  

The two winning schemes were chosen from an initial shortlist of six projects which also included private houses by JDDK and Greenwell Design, flats by Anthony Keith Architects and a gold-clad office block by Faulkner Browns.

Mike Lawless of LA Architects picked up the region’s Architect of the Year Award while the award for the region’s top client went to the NHS Foundation Trust responsible for the commissioning of Hopewood Park.  

RIBA North East Award winners  

  • Haven Point, South Shields by LA Architects
  • Hopewood Park, Sunderland by Medical Architecture

Hopewood Park, Sunderland by Medical Architecture

Hopewood Park, Sunderland by Medical Architecture

Special Award winners

  • Client of the Year Award Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust for Hopewood Park
  • Project Architect of the Year Mike Lawless of LA Architects 

Jury chair Tim Bailey, said: ‘A pleasingly wide range of building types have been entered for 2015 RIBA North East Awards with some very special highlights demonstrating ambition in the region.’

The winning schemes will now all go on to be considered for national awards with the lucky winners announced in June.

Those collecting national awards will then be running for the 2015 Stirling Prize.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs