Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Revealed: finalists in 2014 Civic Trust Awards

  • Comment

Almost 80 UK and International projects are in the running to win one of this year’s Civic Trust Awards

Two Stirling Prize-shortlisted schemes are among the finalists for the 2014 Civic Trust Awards: Bishop Edward King Chapel by Niall McLaughlin Architects; and Heneghan Peng’s Giant’s Causeway Visitor Centre.

Other projects vying for a gong are Hugh Broughton’s Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Hopkins’ Brent Civic Centre, 5Plus Architects’ revamp of Trafford Town Hall and Number One Riverside in Rochdale by FaulknerBrowns Architects.

The full list of finalists

  • Aalborg Waterfront, Denmark by C. F. Moller
  • Campus Roskilde, Denmark by Henning Larsen Architects
  • Vartov Square, Copenhagen by Hall McKnight Architects
  • Fortification route, Ypres by Govaert & Vanhoutte Architects
  • Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Antarctica by Hugh Broughton Architects
  • Lower Hatea Crossing, New Zealand by Knight Architects
  • Metropol Parasol, Seville by J. MAYER H. Architects
  • Luan Gallery, Ireland by Keith Williams Architects
  • Medieval Museum, Ireland by ROJO Studio and Waterford City Council Architects
  • Sillogue 4 and Poppintree Park, Dublin by ARPL Architects
  • St Ann’s Valley Centre, Nottingham by Nottingham City Council & CPMG
  • Britten-Pears Archive, Suffolk by Stanton Williams
  • Creative Arts Hub, Norwich by BDP
  • Cringleford CE VA Primary School, Norfolk by ADP
  • Akerman Health Centre, London by Henley Halebrown Rorrison
  • Blackfriars Station, London by Pascall+Watson, Alsop Architects, and Jacobs Engineering
  • Brent Civic Centre, London by Hopkins Architects
  • Chobham Academy, London by AHMM
  • Drapers’ Academy, London by FCBS
  • East Village, London by Fletcher Priest Architects
  • Finchley Memorial Hospital, London by North London Estate Partnerships & Murphy Philipps
  • Gee Street, London by Munkenbeck+Partners
  • Ironmonger Row Baths, London by Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Saxon Court & Roseberry Mansions, London by Maccreanor Lavington
  • One Church Square, London by Paul Davis and Partners
  • Open Air Theatre, London by Haworth Tomkins
  • ORTUS Learning and Event Centre, London by Duggan Morris
  • Paul Smith, London by 6a Architects
  • St Andrews Residential Development, London by Allies and Morrison
  • St Paul’s School Science Building, London by Nicholas Hare Architects
  • Stratford Campus Library, London by Hopkins Architects
  • The Charter Building, London by Orms
  • The Clarence Centre for Enterprise and Innovation, London by Rivington Street Studio
  • The Goldsmiths’ Centre, London by Lyall, Bills and Young Architects
  • The Livity School, London by Haverstock Associates
  • The Lullaby Studio, London by Studio Weave
  • The New Generation Youth and Community Centre (TNG), London by RCKa Architects
  • The Shed, London by Haworth Tomkins
  • Thomas Fairchild Community School, London by Avanti Architects
  • Timber Lodge and Tumbling Bay Playground, London by London Legacy Development Corporation & erect architecture
  • Les Beauchamps High School, Guernsey by Design Engine Architects
  • Princess Alexandra Auditorium - Yarm Independent School, Stockton-on-Tees by Associated Architects
  • 6th Form Common Room, South Lakeland by WDP Architects
  • Marine Hall Gardens, Wyre by BCA Landscape
  • Number One Riverside, Rochdale by FaulknerBrowns Architects
  • Stamford Park Pavilion and Bowling Viewing Platform, Tameside by OMI Architects
  • Trafford Town Hall, Trafford by 5plus Architects
  • Witton Park High School, Blackburn by Studio E
  • Giant’s Causeway Visitor Centre, Northern Ireland by Heneghan Peng
  • Project 24, Northern Ireland by North Down Borough Council & Hall Black Douglas
  • The Skainos Project, Northern Ireland by Donnelly O Neill Architects
  • Assembly Rooms Refurbishment & Upgrade, Edinburgh by LDN Architects
  • Mareel Cinema & Music Venue, Shetland by Gareth Hoskins Architects
  • Notre Dame Primary School, Glasgow by Glasgow City Council
  • Scottish Water - The Bridge, Lanarkshire by Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Sugarhouse Close, Edinburgh by Oberlanders Architects
  • The George Johnstone Centre, East Lothian by East Lothian Council
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Gateway Buildings, St Antony’s College, Oxford by Bennetts Associates Architects
  • Bridging Centuries - Brewer Street Project, Oxford by BGS Architects
  • Green Park, Reading by Place Design & Planning and Foster and Partners
  • Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Radley College’s Clocktower Square, Vale of White Horse by Design Engine
  • Runways End Outdoor Centre, Rushmoor by Hampshire County Council Property Services
  • Splashpoint Leisure Centre, Worthing by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Stowe Gardens Visitor Centre, Aylesbury Vale by Cowper Griffith Architects
  • The West Wing, Saïd Business School Phase II, Oxford by Dixon Jones
  • Toot Rise, Rother by ECE Architecture
  • University of Winchester St.Alphege Learning & Teaching Building, Winchester by Design Engine Architects
  • Officers Field, Weymouth by HTA Design
  • Poole Harbour Second Crossing, Poole by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Porthmeor Artists’ Studios and Fishermen’s Cellars, Cornwall by Long & Kentish Architects
  • Royal William Yard Staircase, Plymouth by Gillespie Yunnie Architects
  • Coventry University, Faculty of Engineering and Computing, Coventry by Arup Associates
  • Eastside City Park, Birmingham by Patel Taylor
  • South Wolverhampton & Bilston Academy, Wolverhampton by Capita Architecture
  • The Lighthouse, Birmingham by Associated Architects
  • Derwenthorpe Phase One, York by Richards Partington Architects
  • Scale Lane Bridge, Kingston-upon-Hull by McDowell+Benedetti

All the finalists will receive either an award, commendation or a community recognition certificate. Seven specific awards will be handed out to schemes demonstrating excellence in specific areas such as sustainability, conservation, community engagement, and use of brick.

The winners will be announced on 7 March, at an awards ceremony being held at the winter gardens in Blackpool.

Number One Riverside by FaulknerBrowns Architect. Photography by Hufton and Crow

Source: Hufton and Crow

Number One Riverside by FaulknerBrowns Architect. Photography by Hufton and Crow

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs