Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Pritzker Prize winners on shortlist to build new US embassy

  • Comment

Pritzker-winners including Richard Meier and Thom Mayne vie for first UK commissions after being shortlisted for the new US embassy

The nine shortlisted firms are: Thom Mayne’s Morphosis Architects, Gwathmey Siegel & Associates, Kallmann, McKinnell & Wood, KieranTimberlake, Kohn Pedersen Fox Architects, PEI Cobb Freed & Partners, Perkins + Will, Richard Meier & Partners and Skidmore, Owings and Merrill.

The US State Department made the announcement last Friday after receiving 37 entries following a competition launched in October last year.

The firms will present to a panel of judges comprising British and American architects, diplomats and academics, including Richard Rogers. Up to five firms will then be invited to submit formal designs for the final.

The new embassy will be built on a site south of the Thames. The current building on Grosvenor Square was designed by Eero Saarinen in 1955 following a competition. The Twentieth Century Society and English Heritage are bidding to have it grade II listed.

Only American firms with the necessary security clearance are allowed to compete for embassy commissions, although the next phase may see the shortlisted practices recruit British partners to complete their design teams.


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.