Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Pei awarded UIA Gold Medal

  • Comment

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has awarded IM Pei its highest accolade - the 2014 Gold Medal

The judges said the award recognised Pei’s life and work which spanned ‘the history of modern architecture over five continents for more than sixty years’ and honoured his ‘unique style,  timeless rigor, and spiritual connection to history, time and space’.

The 97-year old has already picked up the prestigious American Institute of Architects’ Gold Medal in 1979, and the RIBA Gold Medal in 2009.

The Chinese-born American architect landed the Pritzker in 1983, and with the $100,000 prize-fund set up a scholarship for Chinese students allowing them to study architecture in the United States.

Pei, who is best known for his glass pyramid at the Louvre in Paris, has built just one project in the UK – a pyramid-shaped folly at Oare House in Wiltshire.

He founded his practice, Pei Cobb Freed and Partners, alongside Eason Leonard and Henry Cobb in 1955. Together they have completed a prolific amount of award-winning buildings including the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Library in Boston, the East Building of the National Gallery of Art in Washington and the Bank of China Tower in Hong Kong.

Pei will pick up the award at a ceremony at the UIA World Congress of Architects being held in Durban on 6 August.

Past architects to have bagged the prestigious gong, which has been award every three years since 1984, include Alvaro Siza, Tadao Ando and Renzo Piano.

Pyramide du Louvre, Paris by I M Pei

Pyramide du Louvre, Paris by I M Pei

Past winners of the AIA Gold Medal

1984 Hassan Fathy

1987 Reima Pietila

1990 Charles Correa

1993 Fumihiko Maki

1996 Rafael Moneo

1999 Ricardo Legorreta Vilchis

2002 Renzo Piano

2005 Tadao Ando

2008 Teodoro Gonzalez de Leon

2011 Alvaro Siza

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.