Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Olympic Delivery Agency reveals board members

  • Comment
Olympics minister Tessa Jowell has unveiled the high-profile team of experts who will bear ultimate responsibility for the successful construction of the 2012 Olympic venues - on time and on budget.

The government released details yesterday of a 12-strong board who will bear the burden of building sports facilities and infrastructure for the games over the next six years.

Tate chief Nicholas Serota and Manchester City Council boss Howard Bernstein feature in the line-up.

They will come under the leadership of Olympic Delivery Authority chief executive David Higgins and chairman Jack Lemley at their first official meeting on 27 April.

The other members of the board are:

London Thames Gateway Development Corporation chair Lorraine Baldry;

British Sky Broadcasting former chief executive and managing director Tony Ball;

Transport and General Workers Union assistant general secretary Barry Camfield;

Mayor of London policy director Neale Coleman;

Doctor, academic and entrepreneur Stephen Duckworth;

Great North Eastern Railway chairman and chief executive Christopher Garnett;

Civil Aviation Authority chairman Roy McNulty;

Former Cabinet Office minister Baroness Morgan of Huyton;

Pearls Hotels and Restaurants Group managing director Kumar Muthalagappan; and

Silvertown Quays chairman David Taylor.

Jowell said: 'The new board members bring bags of expertise, experience and knowledge to the task of completing 2012 facilities - from the public and private sectors.'

by Rob Sharp

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.