Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

O’Donnell + Tuomey’s LSE in last five for Mies van der Rohe Prize

  • Comment

O’Donnell + Tuomey’s Stirling Prize-shortlisted Saw Swee Hock Building is the only UK project named among the finalists for the biggest award in European architecture

The five shortlisted schemes in the running for the biennial European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture were revealed in London on Wednesday.

Also known as the Mies van der Rohe Award, it is widely recognised as the highest accolade in European architecture and features a £48,000 top prize.

The London School of Economics’ student centre is up against BIG’s Danish Maritime Museum, the Ravensburg Art Museum by Stuttgart-based Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei, the Antinori Winery in Florence by local outfit Archea Associati, and Poland’s Filharmonia Szczeci´nska by Barcelona-based Barozzi Veiga.

The full shortlist

  • Antinori Winery Archea Associati
  • Danish Maritime Museum BIG
  • Filharmonia Szczecinska Barozzi Veiga
  • Ravensburg Art Museum Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei
  • Saw Swee Hock Student Centre O’Donnell + Tuomey

The five schemes were chosen from a shortlist of 20 projects, which included Niall McLaughlin Architects’ Bishop Edward King Chapel and the 2014 Stirling Prize-winning Everyman Theatre by Haworth Tompkins.

The University of Limerick by Grafton Architects, which competed for the Stirling Prize in 2013, also made it onto the stellar European shortlist but missed out in the final cut.

Previous winners of the Mies van der Rohe Prize include Stansted Airport by Norman Foster (1990), Waterloo International railway station by Nicholas Grimshaw (1994) and David Chipperfield’s Neues Museum in Berlin (2011).

The jury will now visit the five finalists’ schemes and each practice will present its project at an event in Barcelona on 7 May.

The winner will be revealed on 8 May at a ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.



  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.