Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Odile Decq recognised with 2016 Jane Drew Prize

Odile Decq
  • Comment

The French architect Odile Decq has won this year’s Jane Drew Prize in recognition for her outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture.

The judges described Decq as ‘a creative powerhouse, spirited breaker of rules and advocate of equality’.

Decq founded her practice alongside Benoît Cornette in 1985. Then named ODBC, the firm was renamed Studio Odile Decq after her partner died in 1998.

Her work includes art galleries and museums, social housing, and a motorway bridge over the A14 at Nanterre in France.

She has become the fifth recipient of the annual awarded which has previously gone to Grafton Architects co-founders Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara (2015), Kathryn Findlay (2014), Eva Jiricná (2013), Zaha Hadid (2012).

Odile Decq’s career

1979 Received a diploma in urbanism and planning from the Institut d’études politiques, Paris

1985 Launched the architecture firm ODBC with Benoît Cornette

1990 Completed her first project – the Banque Populaire de l’Ouest in Rennes, France

1992 Began working as a professor at the Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture, Paris

1996 ODBC was awarded the Golden Lion Award at the Venice Biennale

2001 Won the competition to expand Rome’s Museum of Contemporary Art

2003 Became a chavalier of the Legion d’Honneur

2007 Became head of Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture, Paris

2007 Received an International Fellowship from the RIBA

2010 Completed the extension to Rome’s Museum of Contemporary Art

2011 Completed the L’Opera restaurant at Opera Garnier, Paris

The prize will be awarded at the annual Women in Architecture Luncheon on 4 March in London. Limited tickets are available. Please contact Lydia Handley Millard on Lydia.HandleyMillard@emap.com for more information.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.