Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

New award recognises London's best high density housing

  • Comment

The Housing Design Awards, now open for entry, will crown for the first time the best high density development built in London

Launched in partnership with the London Sustainable Development Commission (LSDC), which advises the Mayor’s office on green issues in the capital, the new award will recognise economically and socially sustainable high-density schemes.

Judges will rate the development’s sustainability in terms of energy consumption, the use of smart technology, carbon footprint, effect on the micro climate, daylight access, servicing, street/community engagement links and design quality.

LSDC chairman Lord Barker of Battle said: ‘This [new] award will recognise the very best schemes - from towers to clusters of larger buildings – so that their leading edge practice can be shared with the entire construction industry. High density housing is key to the future of London housing provision, but it must be done well.’

The High Density Award will join five other specialist Housing Design Awards categories including:

  • Best private rented sector development (PRS)
  • Best design for the ageing population (HAPPI)
  • Best family-friendly design (Graham Pye Award)
  • Best affordable housing development (Richard Feilden Award on behalf of HCA)
  • Best design in London (Mayor of London Award)

Re-launched by Prime Minister Harold Macmillan in 1960, the awards are backed by the Department for Communities and Local Government, Department for Health, Homes and Communities Agency and the Greater London Authority in partnership with the industry’s professional bodies - RICS, RTPI and Landscape Institute, as well as the consumer standards champion NHBC and the Home Builders Federation. Design is represented by RIBA, Design for Homes and Design Council CABE.

Housing Minister Brandon Lewis said: ‘Building well-designed homes that are popular with communities is vitally important if we’re to build the homes people need.

’That’s why I’m delighted to see the awards showcase the excellent work and collaboration between councils, housebuilders, architects and communities.

‘I would urge everyone to come forward and nominate their favourite suggestions for the Housing Design Awards so their work can be recognised and celebrated.’

The deadline for entries for 2016’s Awards is Wednesday 2 March.

Awards will be presented in early July at a film night – four to five of the completed winning schemes are filmed complete with resident interviews for broadcast. 

Click here to enter

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more