Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

New AJ100 sustainability award nominations revealed

  • Comment

The AJ can name the finalists competing to be crowned AJ100 Sustainability Champion and AJ100 Sustainability Initiative of the Year

The contenders for the inaugural AJ100 Award include Louisa Bowles, who heads Hawkins\Brown’s specialist sustainability group and has been put forward for work which includes development of HBERT, Hawkins\Brown’s in-house embodied carbon measuring tool.

There are also two joint nominations in the Sustainability Champion category for environmental design engineer Clara Bagenal George and Levitt Bernstein’s head of sustinability Clare Murray for their work on the London Energy Transformation Initiative (LETI) Climate Emergency Design Guide, and for Haworth Tompkins co-founder Steve Tompkins and Michael Pawlyn of Exploration Architecture for their work setting up Architects Declare.

The AJ has also revealed below the finalists for the AJ100 Sustainable Initiative of the Year award. The prize replaces the annual Sustainable Practice of the Year award.

The contenders includes Hopkins’ energy and carbon benchmarking database, Architype’s work on PassivhausPlus schemes and the establishment of Architects Declare.

Both new award categories reflect the AJ100’s new spotlight on how the nation’s largest practices are tackling the climate emergency (see AJ100 2020: Three-quarters of firms have signed up to Architects Declare). 

The winners of all the awards will be announced in September.

Sustainability Champion of the Year 2020

  • Louisa Bowles, Hawkins\Brown 
  • Clara B George (Elementa Consulting) and Clare Murray (Levitt Bernstein)
  • Steve Tompkins (Haworth Tompkins) and Michael Pawlyn (Exploration Architecture) 

4 clare at climate strike

Clare Murray of Levitt Bernstein at the Climate Strike [September 2019]

London Energy Transformation Initiative (LETI) founder Clara Bagenal George (middle front, holding sign) and Clare Murray of Levitt Bernstein (middle back, wearing black) at the Climate Strike, September 2019

Sustainability Initiative of the Year 2020 (sponsored by Roca)

  • Perkins and Will – Zero Operational Carbon Strategies Report
  • Arup – Circular Façade at Triton Square
  • Architects Declare – Haworth Tompkins and others
  • Architype - Passivhaus Plus
  • Hawkins\Brown - Zero Carbon: Zero Harm
  • Hopkins - Energy and carbon benchmarking database
  • Orms - whole life carbon analysis and other initiatives

Roca blue 300dpi

Roca blue 300dpi

Battersea arts centre architects declare day 4

Battersea Arts Centre - Architects Declare gathering in November 2019

Battersea Arts Centre - Architects Declare gathering in November 2019

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more