Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Maya Lin wins $300,000 arts prize

  • Comment

American architect and artist Maya Lin has won the $300,000 Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize

The Gish Prize is regarded as one of the most prestigious American arts awards.

Lin, who is best known for her competition-winning Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial in Washington, was selected for the annual prize from over more than 100 nominees.

Her other architectural projects include the recently completed Museum for Chinese in America in New York City and the Riggio-Lynch Interfaith Chapel and Langston Hughes Library for the Children’s Defense Fund in Clinton, Tennessee.

Lin commented: ‘I am deeply touched and grateful to become a part of this astonishing line of prize winners, all of whom were selected because of the very simple but powerful goal set down by Lillian Gish: to bring recognition to the contributions that artists make to society, and to encourage others to follow on that path. Because I have been donating so much of my time over the past seven years to a single long-term project, What Is Missing?, the award will make an enormous difference in enabling me to move the work forward.’

Judging committee chair, playwright David Henry Hwang, added: ‘With her design for the Vietnam Memorial, Maya Lin created arguably the most important piece of public art of our time. Since then, she has continued to achieve greatness, through a singular vision which has come to embrace her passionate concern for the environment – in America, China and throughout this planet. Lin’s combination of artistic excellence and public advocacy embodies the Gish sisters’ vision to honor an artist who makes our world a better place.’

Established in 1994 through the will of actress Lillian Gish, the award recognizes highly accomplished artists who have pushed the boundaries of their respective art forms, contributed to social change, and are seen as a lasting inspiration for the next generation.

Lin will be presented with the Gish Prize on November 12 during a private event at The Museum of Modern Art in New York City. 

Previous recipients of the award, which is now in its 21st year, include Frank Gehry, Bob Dylan, Arthur Miller, and Spike Lee.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs