Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Manser Medal rebrands as RIBA House of the Year


The RIBA is relaunching its Manser Medal as the House of the Year Award - complete with its own four part television series

Backed by Kevin McCloud’s Grand Designs programme, the new-look award includes plans for a weekly series to be aired on Channel  4 during November.

The show, named Grand Designs: RIBA House of the Year, will feature each of the 20 longlisted houses.

The list includes seven RIBA National Award-winning homes including schemes by Wilkinson King, McGonigle McGrath, and Jamie Fobert Architects.

The houses will be whittled down to just six when the shortlist is revealed during the course of the television series. However the winner will no longer be announced on the same night as the RIBA Stirling Prize.

The RIBA House of the Year longlist

Cefn Castell, Criccieth by Stephenson Studio

Cefn Castle, Wales by Stephenson Studio

Cliff House, Gower by Hyde + Hyde

Cliff House, Wales by Hyde + Hyde

Courtyard House by Dallas Pierce Quintero

Courtyard House, London by Dallas Pierce Quintero

Dundon Passivhaus, Somerset by Prewett Bizley Architects

Dundon Passivhaus, Somerset by Prewett Bizley Architects

Fitzroy Park House by Stanton Williams

Fitzroy Park House, London by Stanton Williams

Flint House, Buckinghamshire by Skene Catling de la Pena

Flint House, Buckinghamshire by Skene Catling De La Pena

Folly Farm, Berkshire by Frances and Michael Edwards Architects Ltd with Moxley Architects

Folly Farm, Reading by Frances and Michael Edwards Architects

Grillagh Water House, Londonderry by Patrick Bradley Architects

Grillagh Water House, Northern Ireland by Patrick Bradley Architects#

Church Road House, Belfast by Hall McKnight

House on Church Road, Northern Ireland by Hall McKnight

House in Formby, Merseyside by shedkm

House in Formby, Liverpool by ShedKM

House at Maghera, County Down by McGonigle McGrath

House at Maghera, Northern Ireland by McGonigle McGrath

Piercy and Company's Kew House

Kew House, London by Piercy & Company

Levring House by Jamie Fobert Architects

Levring House, London by Jamie Fobert Architects

The Mill, Southside Steading, Peebles by WT Architecture

The Mill, Scotland by WT Architecture

Pobble House, Kent by Guy Holloway Architects

Pobble House, Dungeness by Guy Hollaway Architects

Stackyard, nr Diss by Mole Architects

Stackyard, Suffolk by Mole Architects

Private house, West Sussex by Wilkinson King Architects

Sussex House, West Sussex by Wilkinson King Architects

Vaulted House by vPPR Architects

Vaulted House, London by vPPR Architects

House on Victoria Road, Holywood by Hall McKnight

Victoria Road, Northern Ireland by Hall McKnight

Westmorland, Liverpool by Snook Architects

Westmorland, Liverpool by Snook Architects

The new RIBA House of the Year Award will replace the Manser Medal and the prestigious award for the UK’s best home will no longer be announced on the same night as the Stirling Prize.

Created in honour of former RIBA president Michael Manser, the first Manser Medal was handed to Studio Bednarski for Merthyr Terrace in 2001.

Previous winners have included Alison Brooks’ Salt House (2007), Carl Turner Architects for the Slip House (2013), Hampstead Lane by Duggan Morris (2011) and Loyn + Co’s Stormy Castle (2014).

RIBA president Stephen Hodder, said: ‘I am delighted that Channel 4 is supporting the UK’s most prestigious and rigorously-judged prize for a new house. The series along with the prize’s new name will give even greater public understanding and clarity about the prize and its intentions – to reward and raise the bar for well-designed houses.  We look forward to announcing the winner of the RIBA House of the Year in November.’

The awards jury, which is being chaired by Jonathan Manser, will include Duggan Morris’ Mary Duggan, Chris Loyn of Loyn + Co, and RIBA head of awards Tony Chapman, James Standen of Hiscox.

The winner of the prize, which is sponsored by specialist insurer Hiscox, will be revealed on 25 November.

Long live the Manser Medal: a list of previous winners

2001 Merthyr Terrace by Studio Bednarski

2002 Brooke Coombes House by Burd Haward Marston Architects

2003 Anderson House by Jamie Fobert Architects

Black House by Mole Architects

2004 Black House by Mole Architects

2005 Stealth House by Robert Dye Architects

2006 Holly Barn by Knox Bhavan Architects

2007 Salt House by Alison Brooks Architects

2008 Oxley Woods by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Gap House Pitman Tozer

2009 The Gap House by Pitman Tozer Architects

2010 Hunsett Hill by Acme

2011 Hampstead Lane by Duggan Morris

2012 Maison L by Architecturespossibles

Car Turner's Slip House

2013 Slip House by Carl Turner Architects

2014 Stormy Castle by Loyn + Co



Readers' comments (3)

  • Great news that the Manser Medal has spawned a TV series! It would be nice if the Manser name continued to be associated with the new initiative.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Kevin McCloud.......what exactly does the RIBA think will be promoted through this vehicle? Architecture? or architects? Has the RIBA looked at the demographics of the viewers of the channel and property programmes? I strongly suspect that this will be another example of singing to the choir:

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • C4 has specialised in showing programming such as Grand Designs throughout the last 10 years. I that same period, architects fees - especially outside of London have plummeted by 40%. What does RIBA and C4 think will be the result of yet more programming of this sort in terms of the effect on the fortunes of architects?
    Here is the typical demographic of grand designs audience:

    Please notice the prime viewing demographic are those in the architecture and interior design industry. The real challenge is to target the people who are not in this demographic.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.