Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Major Scottish housing awards open for entry

Laurieston Transformational Area, Glasgow by Page\Park Architects and Elder and Cannon Architects
  • Comment

The Saltire Society’s annual Housing Design Awards have opened for entry

Celebrating its 79th year, the annual awards programme recognises Scotland’s best housing schemes.

Projects completed between 1 January 2014 and 31 March 2016 can be submitted in one of the awards five different categories.

The five categories

  • Multiple housing development
  • Alterations, renovation and extensions
  • Single dwelling new-build
  • Landscape in housing
  • Innovation in housing

Last year’s winners included Page\Park and Elder & Cannon’s Lauriston Transformational Regeneration Area.

The judging panel will be chaired by Scottish journalist and television presenter Kirsty Wark.

Wark commented: ’I am very much looking forward to chairing this year’s Housing Design Awards in such a significant year for the Saltire Society, particularly when 2016 is also the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design in Scotland. There’s so much creativity in the housing sector in Scotland, such thoughtful forward thinking architecture and design which enhances our cityscapes and landscapes, so that our houses can be a joy to experience, either dwelling in them…or admiring them!’

Alongside the awards, the organisation is also launching a ‘test of time’ project to map all the past winners and assess the longevity of the housing schemes. 

Commenting on the project, Jude Barber, convenor of the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards, said: ’This year’s special ‘Test of Time’ project, which will allow the society, the industry and the general public to better understand the longevity and significance of Scottish housing projects, is a great way to recognise the depth and range of housing excellence in Scotland.’

Submissions must be received by 14 March and the awards ceremony will take place at the Centre for Carbon Innovation in Edinburgh on 23 June 2016.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.