Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Lack of quality means no winner in Milton Keynes competition

  • Comment
None of the entries for the Milton Keynes site in this year's Europan competition were good enough to be declared outright winners, it has emerged this morning.

Despite receiving many entries for the plot in the Buckinghamshire city, the British jury decided that not one was up to scratch.

Organisers have decided though to name two entries as runners up; submissions that they believe might be worked up to a point where they are good enough.

These schemes were submitted by a duo of Polish architects, made up of Lukasz Wojciechowski and Marta Mnich, and a trio of UK architects called Richard Henson, Kristina Lundvall and James Payne.

There was however more success on the two other British sites. The plot in Oldham was won by a UK-based group of independent architects, comprising Alexander Franklin, Phil Catcheside, James White, Rachel Basha, Harry Dobbs, Geoffrey Morrow, Lloyd Woolnough and Michael Guin.

And the Stonebridge competition, for a site in north-west London, was won by the London-based Witherford Watson Mann.

Despite the problems in Milton Keynes, CABE chairman John Sorrell maintained an upbeat attitude. 'For us, this is just the beginning of the process,' he said.

'CABE will work with the teams of young architects and our partners in order to make sure that these cutting edge ideas turn into real places.'

by Rob Sharpand Ed Dorrell

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.