Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Julia Barfield makes 2017 Woman Architect of the Year shortlist

  • Comment

The four women in the running for the AJ/AR Woman Architect of the Year Award have been revealed

The only Brit vying for the award is Marks Barfield co-founder Julia Barfield, who was shortlisted for the i360 tower in Brighton.

Barfield is competing against Mexican Gabriela Carrillo, Anouk Legendre of French practice XTU Architects and co-founders of US practice Leers Weinzapfel, Andrea Leers and Jane Weinzapfel.

The shortlist

  • Julia Barfield, Marks Barfield
  • Gabriela Carrillo, Taller de Arquitectura Mauricio Rocha + Gabriela Carrillo
  • Anouk Legendre, XTU Architects
  • Andrea Leers and Jane Weinzapfel, Leers Weinzapfel Associates

The judging panel for the awards is chaired by AJ and AR editor-in-chief Christine Murray and includes Financial Times architecture critic Edwin Heathcote, architect and recipient of the 2013 Jane Drew Prize Eva Jiricna, AKTII co-founder Hanif Kara, chief executive of Maggie’s Laura Lee, the Science Museum’s Karen Livingstone, director of the Bartlett Bob Sheil, Open City’s Victoria Thornton, structural engineer Jane Wernick, Wilkinson Eyre co-founder Chris Wilkinson and AJ architecture editor Laura Mark. 

This annual award recognises excellence in design with an emphasis on a built project completed in 2016.

Last year Jeanne Gang, founder of Studio Gang, was recognised with the accolade for the Arcus Center for Social Justice Leadership in Michigan.

Previous winners have included Pollard Thomas Edwards’ Teresa Borsuk; Mecanoo’s Francine Houben; Michál Cohen and Cindy Walters, founders of Walters & Cohen; and ABA founder, Alison Brooks.

The winner will be announced at the Women in Architecture Luncheon at Claridge’s on 3 March.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.