Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Judges announced for 2014 Stirling Prize

  • Comment

Cindy Walters, the AJ’s Woman Architect of the Year in 2012, has been named among the judges for this year’s Stirling Prize

The co-founder of Walters & Cohen is joined on the jury by MJ Long of Long & Kentish Architects, Stephen Kieran of London’s US Embassy architects Kieran Timberlake and architectural patron Timothy Sainsbury. The panel will be chaired by Spencer de Grey of Foster + Partners.

This year the event will ‘return to the home of British architecture’, with the prize-giving ceremony set to be held at the RIBA’s headquarters, in Portland Place on Thursday 16 October.

The Stephen Lawrence Prize, sponsored by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, the RIBA Client of the Year and the RIBA Manser Medal, sponsored by Hiscox will also be handed out on the evening.

The ceremony will be hosted by journalist, news broadcaster and honorary RIBA fellow, Kirsty Wark.

Although the institute found a major new sponsor for the Stirling Prize earlier this year - growing property investor and asset manager Brockton Capital – the winner of this yerar’s award will not take home a £20,000 cheque.

The prize money will be reinstated in 2015 when the prize will be renamed the RIBA Brockton Stirling Prize. 

Booking will open on Thursday at www.architecture.com/StirlingPrize after this year’s shortlist is announced.

Previous story (AJ 12.06.14)

£20,000 cash prize returns for RIBA Stirling Prize winner - but not this year

The £20,000 prize for the winner of the Stirling Prize has been resurrected, after a new sponsor was found for the most prestigious award in British architecture

Last year’s victor Witherford Watson Mann walked away without a cheque after its Astley Castle scheme scooped the high-profile accolade. It was the first time since the prize was launched in 1996 that the winner had not picked up any prize money.

Now growing property investor and asset manager Brockton Capital, which manages £650 million-worth of assets, has signed up as the official Stirling Prize sponsor for at least the next three years. From 2015 the award will be renamed the RIBA Brockton Stirling Prize and the prize money will be reinstated then.

The news comes just days after it was revealed that the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition had dropped its cash honour after its sponsor, Lend Lease, pulled out of the annual event. The institution has traditionally handed £10,000 to the best in show and a further £5,000 to the best newcomer.

RIBA chief executive Harry Rich said the involvement of the company signalled a ‘new chapter for architecture’s most significant prize’.

Brockton Capital is currently involved in the redevelopment of the Mailbox in Birmingham with Stanton Williams – winner of the 2012 Stirling Prize. The scheme’s architect, Gavin Williams, said: ‘Brockton Capital’s sponsorship of the Stirling Prize is testament to its status as a client committed to achieving quality in the built environment.’

The full list of 2014 RIBA National Award winners will be announced on Thursday 19 June and feature in a special issue of the AJ next week.

The AJ is the professional media partner for the RIBA Stirling Prize 2014.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.