Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

International stars shortlisted for Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture

  • Comment

The four young architects vying to be named the recipient of the 2017 Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture have been revealed

Celebrated in the Moira Gemmill Prize shortlist are four women who are using innovative architecture to effect social change.

Ada Yvars Bravo of Mangera Yvars is the only UK architect to be shortlisted for the prize, which comes with a £10,000 fund and recognises talented women architects under the age of 45.

The architect – who recently completed the Qatar Faculty of Islamic Studies in Doha – is up against Johanna Hurme of Winnipeg-based 5468796 Architecture, Jing Lui of New York’s SO-IL and Mexican architect Rozana Montiel.

The shortlist

  • Ada Yvars Bravo, Mangera Yvars Architects
  • Johanna Hurme, 5468796 Architects
  • Jing Liu, SO-IL
  • Rozana Montiel, Rozana Montiel Estudio de Arquitectura 

The judging panel for the awards is chaired by AJ and AR editor-in-chief Christine Murray and includes Financial Times architecture critic Edwin Heathcote, architect and recipient of the 2013 Jane Drew Prize Eva Jiricna, AKTII co-founder Hanif Kara, chief executive of Maggie’s Laura Lee, the Science Museum’s Karen Livingstone, director of the Bartlett Bob Sheil, Open City’s Victoria Thornton, structural engineer Jane Wernick, Wilkinson Eyre co-founder Chris Wilkinson and AJ architecture editor Laura Mark.

This award recognises excellence in design and a bright future ahead, with an emphasis on achievements and projects completed. Renamed in memory of the late Moira Gemmill, the £10,000 prize fund aims to support the continuing professional development of the winners.

Previous winners include Gabriela Etchegaray, co-founder of Ambrosi Etchegaray (2016); vPPR founders Tatiana von Preussen, Catherine Pease and Jessica Reynolds (2015); sole practitioner Julia King (2014); Spanish architect Olga Felip (2013); and John McAslan + Partners’ Hannah Lawson (2012).

The winners of the prestigious awards will be announced at the Women in Architecture Luncheon at Claridge’s on 3 March.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.