Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

In pictures: Shortlist for 2013 Wood Awards unveiled

  • Comment

Schemes by a raft of architects including Wilkinson Eyre, DSDHA, Niall McLaughlin, Tim Ronalds and dRMM have been shortlisted for the 2013 Wood Awards

Wilkinson Eyre’s Mary Rose Museum, Atmos Studio’s RoominaRoom and the Colyer-Fergusson Building at the University of Kent by Tim Ronalds Architects are among the projects battling it out for gongs.

The Stirling Prize-nominated Bishop Edward King Chapel by Niall McLaughlin Architects is also up for an award for its use of European Oak and American Ash.

The Wood Awards celebrate the use of wood in architecture, furniture, and design. This year’s shortlist includes private houses, small projects, restoration schemes and furniture.

The 30 shortlisted projects were selected from more than 300 British projects which were submitted for the awards.

The full shortlist


  • The Colyer-Fergusson Building by Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Abbotsford Visitor Reception Building by LDN Architects
  • Festival House - ‘Tower of Love’ by dRMM Architects
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Mary Rose Museum by Wilkinson Eyre


  • The Dune House by Mole Architects
  • Church Walk by David Mikhail Architects
  • Crowbrook by Knox Bhavan Architects
  • Rigg Beck by Knox Bhavan Architect


  • Abraham Darby Sports and Learning Community by BDP
  • The Living Link by Smith and Wallwork
  • Trewarren by John Pardey Architects
  • Future Affordable by David Blaikie Architects

Repair and adaptive re-use

  • Bells Farm by Nick Joyce Architects
  • The RSA - The Royal Society of Arts by Matthew Lloyd Architects
  • Magheralin Parish Church by Waddington-McClure Architects

Small projects

  • The Exbury Egg by PAD Studio
  • Expandable Surface System by the Architectural Association
  • Alex Monroe Studio, Snowsfields by DSDHA
  • RoominaRoom by Atmos Studio

    RoominaRoom by Atmos Studio

    RoominaRoom by Atmos Studio

Production made furniture

  • Holland Park Chair by Ercol Furniture
  • Joyce cabinet by Pinch Design
  • Clyde side table by Pinch Design
  • HAN by Gabbertas Studio
  • Theo Chair by Pengellydesign
  • The Storyboard by Otter Surfboards
  • Otter x The National Trust by Otter Surfboards

Bespoke furniture

  • Ripples by EJ Bespoke Furniture
  • Nimm Rae by chaircreative
  • Tay Bench by Angus Ross
  • Worldscape by Atmos Studio

The judges included Michael Morrison of Purcell and Sean Sutcliffe of Benchmark Furniture.

Michael Morrison said: ‘The diversity of this year’s entries demonstrate the range of flexibility and problem solving which timber brings. This is exciting to see, and the quality of entries this year has made the selection of the shortlist particularly difficult.’

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on the 19 November. The shortlisted projects will be exhibited at 100% Design in September.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs