Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

How to win a Pritzker Prize

Pritzker Prize
  • Comment

The AJ has analysed the results of the Priztker Prize for the last 40 years to find out what it takes to win one of architecture’s highest honours

The investigation shows that your chances of winning the prize significantly increase if you are a man, from Europe and over the age of 60 - although this year’s 48 year-old laureate Alejandro Aravena from Chile bucks this trend.

Just two women have won the Pritzker Prize in its 40 year history – Zaha Hadid and Kazuyo Sejima who won the award alongside partner Ryue Nishizawa. 

European architects have won the most gongs, picking up 15 since its launch in 1979. The UK-based winners of the accolade are Hadid, Norman Foster, Richard Rogers, and James Stirling. 

Frei Otto was the oldest to be given the award at the age of 89. Otto, who was announced as the winner of the prize as news broke of his death, was also the award’s first posthumous recipient. Japan’s Ryue Nishizawa was the youngest ever prize-winner at just 44 years old. 

The award, which is widely known as one of the highest accolades in architecture, was first handed to the 73 year-old American architect Philip Johnson. 

Pritzker Prize

Pritzker Prize




  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.