Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Housing Design Awards 2017 open for entries

  • Comment

This year’s Housing Design Awards has opened for entries, with rural affairs minister John Gardiner joining the 2017 judging panel 

Gardiner will help chose the winner in the Rural Housing Award category which was first launched last year and won by Squires Barnett Architects for a conversion of disused stone sheds in Hexham, Northumberland, into a terrace of social rented homes.

Representing DEFRA in the House of Lords, Gardiner will join 20 multidisciplinary judges on visits to shortlisted sites for the prize - now into its 69th year.

The other specialist categories are: best private rented sector development, best design for the ageing population, best family-friendly design, best affordable housing development and best design in London.

Gardiner said: ’The Housing Design Awards celebrate high-quality development taking place around the country. By promoting the category of best rural scheme, I want to celebrate the positive contribution to rural communities by having well-designed new homes, in harmony with their surroundings.’

Around 15 to 20 awards are given each year to a mix of completed schemes and projects which have planning but are yet to complete. Last years winners include Alison Brooks Architects and 

Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands Architects for Ely Court / Kilburn Park, Maccreanor Lavington for Acton Gardens, and Pollard Thomas Edwards for Older Women’s Co-housing in Barnet, north London. The Supreme Winner was Ash Sakula for The Mailings in Newcastle.

The deadline for entries for 2017’s Awards is Friday 28 February. The awards will be presented in early July. 

Housing Design Awards winners 2016 in full

  • Ash Sakula; The Malings; Supreme Winner 
  • Matthew Lloyd Architects; Frampton Park Baptist Church & Apartments; Completed Winners
  • Conran and Partners; Baylis Old School; Completed Winners
  • Alison Brooks Architects and Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands Architects; Ely Court/Kilburn Park; Completed Winners 
  • Pollard Thomas Edwards; The Scene; Completed Winners
  • Shedkm; hoUSe; Completed Winners
  • Maccreanor Lavington; Acton Gardens Phase 3.2; Project Winner
  • Assael Architecture; Creekside Wharf; Project Winner
  • Mikhail Riches with Cathy Hawley; Goldsmith Street; Project Winner
  • Alison Brooks Architects and Pollard Thomas Edwards; North West Cambridge Lots M1 & M2; Project Winner
  • Squires Barnett Architects; The Ropery; project winner in Rural Housing Award
  • HTA Design LLP; Heartlands; Project Winner
  • Duggan Morris Architects; Hampstead Green; HAPPI Winner
  • Pollard Thomas Edwards; Older Women’s Co-housing; HAPPI Winner
  • PRP Architects; Windmill Court extra care; HAPPI Winner (pictured below)

Windmill court by prp copyright tim crocker

Windmill Court by PRP Architects

Source: Tim Crocker

Windmill Court by PRP Architects

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.