Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Haworth Tompkins to direct National Theatre

  • Comment
Haworth Tompkins wins commission to masterplan future development of London's National Theatre

Haworth Tompkins has beaten off David Chipperfield, Allies and Morrison, Levitt Bernstein and Dixon Jones to win the commission to masterplan the future development of the National Theatre on London’s South Bank.

The practice, which is already working on a conservation management plan for the Grade II-listed Denys Lasdun building, will now produce proposals understood to include the development of a site behind the theatre to house education and 'participation activity'.

The firm will also be asked to animate the sides and rear of the National Theatre building and terraces. The masterplan will respond to the theatre’s concerns regarding institutional transparency, the need to replace infrastructure and pressure to reduce energy consumption.

Haworth Tompkins, which completed the redevelopment of the National Theatre studio block in November 2007, is expected to publish its conservation report at the end of this month (December 2008).

Of the win,director Steve Tompkins said: 'We're looking forward to working with the National Theatre team on such an extraordinary building. Both the urban fabric and society have evolved since the theatre was completed and so our task will be to keep the fundamental ideas of the NT vivid whilst respecting the 1970's architecture.'

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.