Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Global stars honoured with RIBA International Fellowships

  • Comment

Sweden’s Johan Celsing and rising Vietnamese star Vo Trong Nghia have been named among the 12 architects to be awarded RIBA International Fellowships 

The honour, which is handed out in recognition of an architect’s lifetime achievement, allows the recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name.

Celsing is best known for his extension of an art gallery on Millesgården on Lidingo (1999), which was awarded the Kasper Salin Award the same year. His later works include a new joint office building for the National Heritage Board and the Swedish Exhibition in Visby (2008).

Key projects of the up and coming Vo Trong Nghia of Vo Trong Nghia Architects include the Vietnam Pavilion - comprised of bamboo ‘lotus pods’ - for the Milan Expo 2015; the Farming Kindergarten, Vietnam; and the House for Trees, which won the Architectural Review’s 2014 House Winner, Vietnam.

Bijoy Jain, founder of Studio Mumbai, was also awarded a fellowship; his works include the 2007 Palmyra House, India, comprised of two wooden louvered structures. 

The other recipients of international fellowship are: Izaskun Chinchilla, Frederick Cooper, Philip Cox, Tom de Paor, Francisco Vieira de Campos, Cristina Guedes, Siv Helene Stangeland, Reinhard Kropf and Marie Jose Van Hee. 

The RIBA International Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA’s headquarters in early 2017.

The RIBA’s 2017 International Fellowships: 

  • Johan Celsing, Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor, Sweden
  • Izaskun Chinchilla, Izaskun Chinchilla Architects, Spain
  • Frederick Cooper, Cooper Grana Nicolini Architects (now CGGMS architects), Peru
  • Philip Cox, COX Architecture, Australia
  • Tom de Paor, dePaor, Ireland
  • Francisco Vieira de Campos and Cristina Guedes, Menos é Mais, Portugal
  • Bijoy Jain, Studio Mumbai, India
  • Siv Helene Stangeland and Reinhard Kropf, Helen & Hard, Norway and Austria
  • Vo Trong Nghia, Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Vietnam
  • Marie Jose Van Hee, MJose Van Hee Architecten, Belgium

The recipents were selected by a committee chaired by RIBA President Jane Duncan with Peter Cook, Neil Gillespie, Victoria Thornton and the 2015 Royal Gold Medallist Sheila O’Donnell.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs