Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

DRDH and Julian Harrap win Antwerp theatre revamp

  • Comment

A collaboration between UK practices DRDH and Julian Harrap Architects has won an international competition to restore a historical neo-classical theatre in Antwerp, Belgium

The London-based team saw off competition from firm DMT with Steenmeijer architecten, Ghent-based Robbrecht en Daem, Belgian outfit SumProject and TenBrasWestinga of The Netherlands in the contest to revamp the Bourlaschouwburg Theatre.

DRDH, whose Stormen Concert Hall and Library in Bodo was named the AJ’s Building of the Year 2014, is working with Arup Theatre & Acoustics and engineers ABT and RCR.

The Bourla Theatre, Antwerp

The Bourla Theatre, Antwerp

Source: Senne van der Ven

The Bourla Theatre, Antwerp

As well as the restoration of the existing the building, which was designated a protected monument in 1938, the scheme will address ’the contemporary theatrical needs of its resident theatre company’ Het Toneelhuis.

The 900-seat theatre was completed by Antwerp city architect Pierre Bourla in 1834 and is the last remaining municipal theatre in Europe.

The next stage of the project will be to develop a ’detailed design strategy, capable of engaging an array of interested parties and establishing a development programme for the coming years’.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.