Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Leading skyscraper designers sign up to Skyline campaign

  • 1 Comment

Architects behind some of the world’s most famous towers have thrown their weight behind the AJ/Observer joint campaign to stop poorly designed towers ruining London’s skyline

Ian Simpson, who is best known for his Beetham tower in Manchester, and Chris Wilkinson, whose practice Wilkinson Eyre won the 2012 Lubetkin Prize with its £600 million Guangzhou tower in China have joined a growing list of leading figures who are backing the Skyline campaign.

Both have written in this week’s AJ about the practical steps which could be taken to ensure quality buildings in the right locations across the capital.

In addition Pollard Thomas Edwards’ executive director Andrew Beharrell has added his support and Rachel Haugh, a founding partner and co-director of Ian Simpson Architects, Amanda Levete of AL_A and Alison Brooks of Alison Brooks Architects have also signed up to the campaign.

More than 120 names (see below) have now pledged their support for increased scrutiny of London’s developing skyline.

The campaign supports New London Architecture boss Peter Murray’s call for a new mayoral Skyline Commission ‘to review and enable well-designed development’ as well as calling for a more structured, defined and considered policy for tall buildings, with transparency for the public and clarity for developers.

Full list of signatories

  • Alain de Botton, author
  • Alan Baxter, engineer
  • Alan Bennett, author
  • Alan Leibowitz, property developer
  • Alison Brooks, architect
  • Amanda Levete, architect
  • Andrew Beharrell, architect
  • Andrew Taylor, architect
  • Ashchurch Residents’ Association
  • Barbara Weiss, architect
  • Brackenbury Residents’ Association
  • Charles Correa, architect
  • Charles Saumarez- Smith, chief executive, Royal Academy
  • Charles Thomson, architect
  • Clem Cecil, director, Save
  • Chris Wilkinson, architect
  • Robert Davis (Cllr), deputy leader, Westminster City Council
  • Crispin Kelly, housing developer
  • Tessa Jowell (Dame), MP
  • Dan Cruickshank, historian
  • David Adjaye, architect
  • David Lammy MP
  • David Rosen, property consultant
  • Denise Bennetts, architect
  • Deyan Sudjic, director, Design Museum
  • Dickon Robinson CBE, architect
  • David Souden (Dr), historian
  • East End Preservation Society
  • Edward Cullinan, architect
  • Edward Jones, architect
  • Eric Parry, architect
  • Eva Jiricna, architect
  • Friends of St George’s Gardens
  • Fulham Society
  • Geoffrey Spyer, architect
  • Graham Haworth, architect
  • Griff Rhys Jones, president, Civic Voice
  • Hana Loftus, architect
  • Highgate Society Society
  • Ian Simpson, architect
  • John Miller, architect
  • Johnny Flynn, musician
  • Jonathan Sergison, architect
  • Kevin McCloud, broadcaster
  • Lady Stirling
  • Liza Fior, architect
  • London Forum of Amenity and Civic Societies
  • Lord Baker of Dorking
  • Lucy Musgrave, architect
  • Madelon Vriesendorp, artist
  • Michael Coombs, engineer
  • Nick Jeffrey, planner
  • Nick Starr, executive director, National Theatre
  • Pankaj Patel, architect
  • Paul Thompson, rector, Royal College of Art
  • Peter St John, architect
  • Adam Caruso (Prof), architect
  • Adrian Forty (Prof), architectural historian
  • Vittorio Gregotti (Prof), architect
  • Sean Griffiths (Prof), architect
  • Joseph Rykwert (Prof), historian
  • Jeremy Till (Prof) head, Central saint Martin
  • Rab Bennetts, architect
  • Rachel Haugh, architect
  • Rebecca Warren, artist
  • Richard Coleman, engineer
  • Robin Nicholson, architect
  • Roger Zogolovitch, architect
  • Rory Olcayto, acting editor, AJ
  • Rory Stewart MP
  • Rosemarie MacQueen, Westminster City Council
  • Sarah Wigglesworth, architect
  • Simon Silver, property developer
  • David Chipperfield (Sir), architect
  • Antony Gormley (Sir), sculptor
  • Michael Hintze (Sir), hedge fund founder
  • Anish Kapoor (Sir), sculptor
  • John Tusa (Sir), arts administrator and broadcaster
  • St Helens Residents’ Association
  • Stamford Brook Residents’ Association
  • Steve Tompkins, architect
  • Steven Bee, planner
  • Sunand Prasad, architect
  • The Kensington Society
  • The Kew Society
  • Tower Hamlets Federation of TRAs
  • Eugenio Aguinaga
  • Paul Middleton, architect
  • Jeremy Crocker,designer
  • Hugh Broughton, director, Hugh Broughton Architects
  • Tarquin Nelson
  • Lin Shao
  • Richard Rees
  • Andrew Boff, leader, GLA conservative, London Assembly
  • Nahoum Cohen, urban planner (Tel Aviv)
  • Wendy White
  • V.G Jackson
  • Lucca Meger
  • Arthur Hayes
  • Tatiana Soares
  • Nick Flesher, Flesher Consulting
  • Ben Sanderson, Flesher Consulting
  • Julian Lewis, East Architecture
  • Daniella Freeman
  • Richard Riley, urban designer, Leicester City Council
  • John Waldron RIBA RSA, Spaces4Learning
  • Kris Eley, technical director, Mitchell Taylor Workshop
  • Swan Steven
  • Jan Prendergast (Cllr), Westminster City Council
  • Albert Ratcliffe
  • Crispian Cuss
  • Paul Smith, fashion designer
  • Peter Rees
  • Angela Brady
  • Hanif Kara, engineer, AKTII
  • Richard Coleman, Citydesigner
  • Jay Merrick, architecture critic, The Independent
  • Clare Wright, architect
  • Ellis Woodman, architecture critic
  • Helen Goodman MP, Shadow Culture Secretary, Labour Party
  • Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon OBE, Stephen Lawrence Trust
  • Peter Clegg, Feilden Clegg Bradley
  • Keith Bradley, Feilden Clegg Bradley
  • Roger Mears, Roger Mears Architects


  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

  • I have already written asking to be able to join the campaign, but I don't see my name above.
    Please add it.
    Roger Mears AABC RIBA SCA
    Roger Mears Architects
    2 Compton Terrace
    N1 2UN
    020 7359 8222

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more