Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Exclusive: Zaha Hadid wins Jane Drew Prize


Zaha Hadid has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize for her outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture

The AJ Women in Architecture judging panel came to the unanimous decision on Friday. Hadid will be presented with the award at the AJ Women in Architecture luncheon (buy tickets here), where winners of the Woman Architect of the Year and Emerging Woman Architect of the Year will also be announced (AJ 22.03.12).

Hadid has broken the glass ceiling more than anyone

The panel included Richard Rogers, chief executive Martha Thorne of the Pritzker Prize, chief executive Laura Lee of Maggie’s Centres, design director Moira Gemmill of the V&A, head of London portfolio Colette O’Shea of Land Securities, planning officer Peter Rees of the City of London, founding director Victoria Thornton of Open-City, and Doreen Lawrence, founding director of the Stephen Lawrence Trust, with AJ editor Christine Murray as chair.

Hadid was the first woman to be awarded the Pritzker Prize, and has won the Stirling Prize twice, consecutively, for the MAXXI museum in Rome in 2010, and Evelyn Grace Academy in London in 2011.

The judges said: ‘Hadid has broken the glass ceiling more than anyone and is practically a household name. Her achievement is remarkable.’

More than 300 out of nearly 650 women polled in the AJ Women in Architecture survey named Hadid as having made the greatest contribution to the status of women in architecture.

Hadid will be the first recipient of the revived Jane Drew Prize, which existed for a short time in the 1990s.

Tickets for the inaugural AJ Women in Architecture lunch, supported by Roca and Place Careers, are on sale for £95, available for sale online here. Richard Rogers will be guest speaking at the event, which is hosted by AJ editor Christine Murray.

Women in Architecture - judging

Women in Architecture - judging



Readers' comments (2)

  • So many years since Zaha was my tutor at the AA, then a colleague at OMA...
    Also, some recollections of Jane Drew...
    Congratulations, Zaha! No need to say you deserve every inch of it!
    Omri Eytan, Tel-Aviv, Israel

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Congratulations, Zaha and i wish for u the best in your life

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.