Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Chipperfield shortlisted in the Hague

  • Comment
David Chipperfield Architects is the sole British firm to be selected to compete for the design of the new International Criminal Court in the Hague.

Twenty practices, including Dutch heavyweight OMA and Danish firm Schmidt Hammer Lassen, have been chosen from 12 different countries and will be handed 35,000 euros (£28,000) to submit concept designs on the brief.

The deadline for the designs is August and the three best will be announced in November, when all 20 entries will be exhibited in the Museon in the Hague.

The winning designer will be awarded 60,000 euros (£47,000) as well as the project, second prize will receive 50,000 euros (£39,000), and third will be handed 40,000 euros (£31,000).

Organised and chaired by the chief government architect of the Netherlands, the competition was launched last February.

The court’s new premises, with a total gross floor space of up to 46,000m2, will be constructed on the present site of the Alexanderkazerne former military barracks, located between the dunes and the Van Alkemadelaan in the Hague.

The 20 practices are:

Architectus Brisbane Pty, Brisbane, Australia;
Atelier Christian de Portzamparc, Paris, France;
Claus en Kaan Architecten, Rotterdam, Netherlands;
David Chipperfield Architects, London, United Kingdom;
Henning Larsen Architects, Copenhagen, Denmark;
Ingenhoven Architects, Düsseldorf, Germany;
JLCG arquitectos, Lisboa, Portugal;
Kengo Kuma & Associates, Tokyo, Japan;
Mangado y Asociados, Pamplona, Spain;
Mecanoo architecten, Delft, Netherlands;
Moshe Safdie & Associates, Somerville, Massachusetts, USA;
Neutelings Riedijk Architecten, Rotterdam, Netherlands;
Nikken Sekkei, Tokyo, Japan;
OMA/SeARCH, Rotterdam, Netherlands;
Sauerbruch Hutton GmbH, Berlin, Germany;
Schmidt Hammer Lassen/Bosch & Fjord, Århus C, Denmark;
Springall+Lira/bgp, Mexico, Mexico;
Stein Halvorsen/ARCASA, Oslo, Norway;
Wiel Arets Architect & Associates, Maastricht, Netherlands; and
Xaveer De Geyter, Brussels, Belgium.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.