Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Chipperfield and Hoskins bag Civic Trust Awards

  • Comment

David Chipperfield and Gareth Hoskins were among winners of special prizes at this year’s Civic Trust awards, held in Edinburgh

The Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield by David Chipperfield Architects was named the judges favourite and Gareth Hoskins Architects’ National Museum of Scotland took the Special Award for Scotland.

A total of 27 projects received prizes at the annual award ceremony which was held at The Hub in Edinburgh this year.

There were 52 schemes shortlisted for the prestigious design awards which recognise projects with positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefits to local communities. 

Six special awards were given to projects demonstrating outstanding design. The Longest Bench in Littlehampton by Studio Weave was awarded the Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement.

The Special Award for Sustainability went to Adam Khan Architects for Brockholes Visitor Centre, in Preston while the new extension to the Holburne Museum in Bath, by Eric Parry Architects was awarded the Michael Middleton Special Award.

The Michael Middleton award is given in memory of former Civic Trust director, Michael Middleton MBE, and recognises excellence in renovation or new build projects within conservation areas.

Malcolm Hankey, managing director of the Civic Trust Awards, said: ‘The Civic Trust Awards celebrate not only design excellence, but also the relationship between structures, places, the environment and communities.

‘Winning projects have demonstrated architectural excellence whilst offering cultural, social or economic benefit to the local community’.

The 27 award winning projects were:

Arc and the Apex, Bury St Edmunds by Hopkins Architects

Brockholes Visitor Centre, Preston by Adam Khan Architects

H10 London Waterloo, Southwark by Maccreanor Lavington

Hackney Marshes Centre, Hackney by Stanton Williams

Harper Concert Hall, Reykjavik by Henning Larsen

Hospice Djursland, Denmark by C. F. Moller Architects

Kendrew Quadrangle, Oxford by MJP Architects

Las Arenas, Barcelona by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Lyric Theatre, Belfast by O’Donnell and Tuomey

Michael Faraday Community School, Southwark by Archial

National Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh by Gareth Hoskins Architects

Prince’s Garden, Imperial College, London by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates

Pudding Mill Lane Pumping Station, Newham by John Lyall Architects

Royal Conservatory TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning, Toronto by Marianne McKenna

Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Cardiff by BFLS

Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge by Stanton Williams

Stanislavsky Factory, Moscow by John McAslan + Partners

The Granary, Dagenham by Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects

The Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield by David Chipperfield Architects

The Holburne Museum, Bath by Eric Parry Architects

The Iron Market, Port-au-Prince by John McAslan + Partners

The Longest Bench, Littlehampton by Studio Weave

Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatres, Stratford by Bennetts Associates

The Scotsman Steps, Edinburgh by Haworth Tompkins

University of Wales, Newport by BDP

Performing Arts Studios at the University of Winchester by Design Engine Architects Ltd

Wexford County Council Headquarters by Robin Lee Architecture

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.