Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Postponed: MJ Long Prize nominees in conversation

Due to unforseen circumstances the W Awards Forum, scheduled to take place at Conway Hall on Thursday 5 March, will now be postponed till later in the year

The Architectural Review and the Architects’ Journal in discussion with architects shortlisted in the W Awards 2020 (formerly the Women in Architecture awards) has been postponed.

Shortlisted architects were due to present their work and open the conversation about their practice. Announcements will follow rescheduling the event later in the year.

Shortlisted for the inaugural MJ Long Prize for Excellence in Practice in the UK are Emma Fairhurst of Collective Architecture, Alice Hamlin of Mole Architects, Tracy Meller of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners and Nicola Rutt of Hawkins\Brown. The award is named in memory of inspirational architect, lecturer and writer Mary Jane (MJ) Long.

Fairhurst was nominated for the design and delivery of the Calton Hill City Observatory Project in Edinburgh; Hamlin for her work on the award-winning Marmalade Lane housing scheme; Meller for her role on the London School of Economics’ recently opened Centre Building; and Rutt in respect of the much-lauded Here East refit of the London 2012 Media Centre. Read more about each of the finalists here.

As a practice, Mole is conscious of the additional challenges women can face in our profession

AJ editor Emily Booth said: The shortlist for the inaugural MJ Long Prize showcases real excellence in modern practice. From a university building to an innovative workspace retrofit, to co-housing, to design and restoration of a listed landmark, each of these impressive projects demonstrates a clear understanding of context and care for the communities they serve.’

The annual MJ Long Prize is open to UK-based female architects and judged on an overall body of work with an emphasis on a project completed within the past 18 months.

MJ Long was born in the US and lived in the UK from 1965 until her death in 2018. Her standout projects include the British Library with her husband Colin St John Wilson (1973-98), the National Maritime Museum Cornwall (2003) and the Jewish Museum in Camden (2010) in partnership with Rolfe Kentish.

Bethnal Green Missio 3147 Jack Hobhouse PRESSIMAGE 1

Gatti Routh Rhodes’ Bethnal Green Mission

Source: Jack Hobhouse

Gatti Routh Rhodes’ Bethnal Green Mission

The Moira Gemmill Prize for international emerging architects under the age of 45 features Stefanie Rhodes of east London-based Gatti Routh Rhodes, as well as architects from Italy, Niger and Turin.

The award was renamed in memory of the late Moira Gemmill, director of design at the V&A and latterly director of capital programmes at the Royal Collection Trust, and has a £10,000 first prize.

Previous Moira Gemmill Prize-winners include London-based Julia King in 2014, the founders of vPPR in 2015, Mexicans Ambrosi Etchegaray in 2016 and Rozana Montiel in 2017, Gloria Cabral from Paraguay in 2018 and China’s Xu Tiantian in 2019.

This particular award means a lot … There were very few female role models when I entered the profession

Both accolades form part of the W Awards – the successor to the Women in Architecture awards – which celebrate exemplary work of all kinds – from the design of the world’s most significant new buildings to contributions to wider architectural culture, from lifetimes of achievement to the work of women with bright futures ahead.

The winners will be honoured at the W Lunch at Battersea Arts Centre in London on Friday 6 March. The recipients of the Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable prizes will be speaking at the event – click here to book your seat.