Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Big names in running for RIBA's new International Prize

  • Comment

Zaha Hadid and David Chipperfield have multiple nominations on the star-studded list of 30 schemes vying for the RIBA’s International Prize 

Schemes by Foster + Partners, Grimshaw, Caruso St John, dRMM and DRDH are also hoping to be named the world’s best building.

The late Zaha Hadid has two schemes in the running for the award – the Heydar Aliyev Centre in Baku and a campus in Hong Kong - while fellow RIBA Gold Medal winner David Chipperfield has three buildings in contention - a Chinese office, the St Louis Art Museum and a museum in Mexico.

The global award replaces the institute’s Lubetkin prize - which was formerly only open to RIBA members - allowing any architect in the world to enter.

The inaugural longlist includes a raft of international stars, such as Vietnam’s Vo Trong Nghia, Shigeru Ban, O’Donnell + Tuomey, BIG and Grafton Architects.

According to the RIBA the winning building will ‘demonstrate visionary, innovative thinking and excellence of execution, while making a distinct contribution to its users and to its physical context.’ 

The longlist

  • Angdong Hospital, China by Rural Urban Framework
  • Buenos Aires Ciudad, Argentina by Foster + Partners
  • Culture House Rozet, The Netherlands by Neutelings Riedjik Architects
  • DLR Lexicon, Ireland by Carr Cotter Naessens
  • Europaallee Baufeld E, Switzerland by Caruso St John Architects
  • European Hansemuseum, Germany by Studio Andreas Heller
  • Farming Kindergarten, Vietnam by Vo Trong Nghia
  • Fine Arts Museum of Asturias, Spain by Mangado y Asociados
  • Fulton Center, USA by Grimshaw
  • Heydar Aliyev Centre, Azerbaijan by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Invisible House, Australia by Peter Stutchbury Architecture
  • Jockey Club Innovation, Hong Kong by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Museo Jumex, Mexico by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Moganshan Road Office Building, China by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Oita Prefecture Art Museum, Japan by Shigeru Ban Architects
  • Park Royal on Pickering, Singapore by WOHA Architects
  • Public Library of Constitucion, Chile by Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos
  • Qatar Faculty of Islamic Studies, Qatar by Mangera Yvars Architects
  • Rundeskogen, Norway by dRMM Architects
  • Saint Louis Art Museum, USA by David Chipperfield Architects
  • Saint Trinitatis Catholic Church, Germany by Schulz und Schulz
  • Sancaklar Mosque, Turkey by Emre Arolat Architecture
  • SkyTerrace, Singapore by SCDA Architects
  • St Angela’s College Cork, Ireland by O’Donnell + Tuomey
  • Stormen Concert Hall, Norway by DRDH Architects
  • The Ring of Remembrance, International World War One Memorial of Notre Dame de Lorette, France by Agence d’architecture Philippe Prost
  • Tula House, Canada by Patkau Architects
  • UTEC, Lima by Grafton Architects
  • VIA at West 57th, USA by BIG 

The schemes will now be whittled down to a list of 20 and the six finalists will be visited by the prize’s grand jury which includes Richard Rogers, American architect Billie Tsien and Kunlé Adeyemi, founder of NLÉ. 

Commenting on the longlist, RIBA president Jane Duncan, said: ‘We have been delighted with the response to our inaugural RIBA International Prize, which has brought a huge range of exceptional entries from all around the globe. It will be fascinating to see insights from the judges and entrants into the power and value of great architecture, wherever you are in the world.’ 

The long-awaited prize replaces the institution’s Lubetkin Prize, which was scrapped last year after eight years. 

The Lubetkin Prize had previously been open only to RIBA chartered architects and international fellows, with its shortlist drawn from each year’s set of RIBA International Award winners. 

In its first year the award is open to any building completed in the last three years, but from next year this will be changed to only take into account buildings completed within two years of the deadline. 

The winner will be announced in December 2016.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.