Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Benedetta Tagliabue joins Pritzker Prize jury

  • Comment

Spanish architect Benedetta Tagliabue, the director of the Stirling Prize-winning practice EMBT, has joined the Pritzker Prize jury

Tagliabue will become the ninth member of the international jury which also includes Peter Palumbo, Glenn Murcutt, Alejandro Aravena, Stephen Breyer, Yung Ho Chang, Kristin Feireiss, Juhani Pallasmaa and Ratan Tata.

Tom Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, said Tagliabue had been chosen for her ‘new perspectives’ and ‘deep and international knowledge of the best in architecture today’.

Chair of the jury, Peter Palumbo, added: ‘Her distinction as an architect and her deep knowledge of the history of architecture will be invaluable to the deliberations of the jury.’

Commenting on her appointment, Tagliabue said: ‘The Pritzker Prize has become the award that points out the most important directions in architecture. For more than 35 years, quality in architecture at all scales and regardless of firm size has been the outstanding value of the prize. I feel incredibly honoured to be part of the jury and I am looking forward to sharing ideas and beautiful moments with my colleagues.’

Tagliabue founded Barcelona-based EMBT in 1994 with Enric Miralles.

The practice’s projects include the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh, Diagonal Mar Park in Barcelona and the Spanish Pavilion at the 2010 Shanghai World Expo.

She recently won the 2013 RIBA Jencks Award, which is given annually to an individual or practice that has recently made a major contribution internationally to both the theory and practice of architecture (AJ 16.10.13).

The jury members, who choose the winner of the $100,000 annual prize, serve for a number of years to ‘assure a balance between current and new members’.

This year’s prize, which is awarded to living architects who demonstrate ‘excellence in built work and who make a significant and consistent contribution to humanity’, went to Japanese architect Shigeru Ban (AJ 25.03.14).

The prize, which was established by the Pritzker Family in 1979, has previously been awarded to Oscar Niemeyer, Robert Venturi, Norman Foster and Zaha Hadid.

The 2015 Pritzker Architecture Prize laureate is scheduled to be announced in March.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.