Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Bartlett’s Murray Fraser wins £10,000 RIBA Annie Spink teaching award

Professor murray fraser riba annie spink award winner 2018 (photograph by dr eva branscome)
  • Comment

The Bartlett’s Murray Fraser 2018 has won the RIBA’s 2018 Annie Spink Award – the institute’s top accolade for teachers of architecture

Fraser, who has been working in education since the 1990s and is currently professor of architecture and global culture and vice-dean for research at the Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL), will receive the award at the President’s Medals ceremony at RIBA HQ in London next week.

The prestigious biennial prize, which comes with a £10,000 premium, is awarded to the individual who has made a ’significant contribution to the advancement of architectural education in a school of architecture anywhere in the world that offers courses validated by the RIBA’.

The last Annie Spink Award in 2016 was also scooped by a Bartlett teacher, its previous dean and head of school, Christine Hawley (AJ 05.12.16).

Previous winners include Dalibor Vesely, Andrew MacMillan and Isi Metzstein (jointly) and Florian Beigel, who died earlier this year.

Congratulating Fraser, RIBA president Ben Derbyshire said: ’Murray’s extensive career has influenced the development of thousands of students at Oxford Brookes University, at the University of Westminster, and at the Bartlett School of Architecture, as well as over many other aspects of architectural education.

‘The academic rigour of his teaching of design, history and theory, and his passionate commitment to sharing architectural knowledge in the most diverse publishing formats, make him a most deserving winner of this award.’

Fraser said: ’This award means everything to me. Since I began teaching in the 1990s I have worked hard to raise ambitions in design studio and architectural history and theory through a more collaborative and student-centred approach.

This award means everything to me

’I have been fortunate to have worked in three excellent architectural schools – Oxford Brookes, Westminster and the Bartlett – alongside brilliant students and colleagues, from whom I have learnt a great deal about being an architect and an educator. This award is as much theirs as it is mine.’ 

Architect Herbert Spink established the award in 1974 when he bequeathed the Annie Spink Trust Fund in memory of his wife, who died in 1938.

This year’s judges were: John-Paul Nunes, RIBA Head of Education Projects (non-voting chair); Alan Jones, RIBA president-elect and director of professional practice at Queen’s University Belfast; Roy Khatchadourian, RIBA Dissertation Medallist 2016 and architect at PDP London; Lilly Kudic, head of architecture at London South Bank University; Helen O’Connor, head of architecture and urban planning at the University of Dundee; and Samir Pandya, assistant head of the School of Architecture and Cities at the University of Westminster.

Fraser’s award will be presented to him as part of the institute’s President’s Medals event at Portland Place on 4 December.

Annie spink award 2018 judging panel (1)

Annie Spink Award 2018, judging panel

Annie Spink Award 2018, judging panel

RIBA Annie Spink Award winners

  • 2016: Christine Hawley
  • 2014: Florian Beigel
  • 2012: Nigel Coates
  • 2010: Dean Hawkes
  • 2008: Andrew MacMillan and Isi Metzstein (joint award)
  • 2006: Dalibor Vesely
  • 2004: Peter Salter and Wolf Prix (shared award)
  • 2002: Peter Cook and David Greene (joint award)
  • 2000: Elia Zenghelis

Annie spink award trophy (1)

Annie Spink Award - trophy

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs