Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

At last - good news for the Scottish Parliament

  • Comment
Enric Miralles' exceptionally controversial Scottish Parliament building has won its first architectural prize.

The Edinburgh Architectural Association (EAA) has given the building - which was designed with RMJM - the Centenary Medal, the highest accolade the organisation can hand out.

EAA president Colin Gilmour said he was delighted to give the award to the building's architectural team.

He said they had 'the vision, courage and stamina to create a masterful piece of architecture, which all of Scotland should be proud of'.

The judging panel - comprising professor Robin Webster of Glasgow-based Cameron Webster Architects, Eelco Hooftman of Edinburgh-based landscape architect Gross Max and Ian Springford of Ian Springford Architects - was unanimous in its decision.

The Centenary Medal was introduced in 1957 to mark the EAA's centenary, and is awarded in recognition of outstanding architectural merit in a building or group of buildings.

As the medal aims to represent the pinnacle of design achievement, it is not awarded on a frequent basis and has only been presented on seven occasions since its inception. The most recent winner was the Museum of Scotland Extension by Benson & Forsyth in 1999.

by Ed Dorrell

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

AJ Jobs