Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Artist Rachel Whiteread wins 2017 Ada Huxtable Prize

Rachel whiteread johnny shand kidd
  • Comment

The prominent artist Rachel Whiteread has been revealed as the winner of the third Ada Huxtable Prize

The prize recognises women working in the wider industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment.

Whiteread, who was the first woman to win the Turner Prize in 1993, was the standout nomination for the honour which is voted for by respondents to the Women in Architecture survey.

The materiality of Whiteread’s work, her collaboration with architects - including Caruso St John for the current Holocaust Memorial competition - and her participation on the 2016 RIBA Stirling Prize jury all highlight her impact on the wider architectural world.

Caruso st john 1

Caruso st john 1

Source: Caruso St John Architects, Marcus Taylor and Rachel Whiteread & Malcolm Reading Consultants

Caruso St John and Rachel Whiteread’s shortlisted proposal for the Holocaust Memorial

Rachel Whiteread is known for her casts of everyday objects, furniture and architecture using materials such as rubber, dental plaster and resin to record every nuance. She is perhaps best known for her 1993 work House, a life-sized replica of the interior of a condemned terraced house in London’s East End made by spraying liquid concrete into the building’s empty shell before its external walls were removed. 

Christine Murray, editor-in-chief of The Architectural Review and the AJ, said: ‘Rachel Whiteread is an important influence and inspiration to the profession and richly deserving of the Ada Huxtable Prize.’

This Ada Huxtable award is open to critics, politicians, clients and planners, or anyone influencing architectural culture.

The prize is named after architecture critic Ada Louise Huxtable. She made history by being the first full-time architecture critic at a US newspaper when she joined the New York Times, and was later awarded the first Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 1970. 

Former director of the Serpentine Galleries Julia Peyton-Jones won the prize in 2016 for her role in nurturing architectural vision and making architecture available to a broad global audience. Client and architectural patron Jane Priestman won the inaugural prize in 2015.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.