Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Architects honoured with RIBA International Fellowships

  • Comment
Some of the world's greatest living architects are among the first recipients of the RIBA's new International Fellowships award.

New York-based intellectual Peter Eisenman and Uruguayan Rafael Viñoly are just two of the big name designers to be given the new accolade, which replaces the RIBA Honorary Fellowship for non-UK architects.

The other luminaries are; crazy cardboard guru Shigeru Ban; Italian giant Massimiliano Fuksas; deconstructivist Bernard Tschumi; and Austrian radical Wolf Prix, of Coop Himmelblau.

The lifetime honour allows the recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name and all the existing non-UK architect Honorary Fellows - including Mario Botta and Santiago Calatrava - will be invited to become International Fellows.

RIBA President Jack Pringle said: 'Each of these architects, our inaugural International Fellows, are giants on the world stage of architecture.

'Their work has been hugely influential and it is a pleasure for me to welcome them to membership of the RIBA in this very special way.'

Meanwhile the RIBA Council has also approved 16 new Honorary Fellowships to non-architects who have made contributions to 'architecture in the broadest sense.'

These are: furniture designer Zeev Aram; engineer and designer Ian Callum; architectural photographer Peter Cook; designer James Dyson; photographer Dennis Gilbert; designer Jonathan Ive, who works for Apple; Arup planner Anne Kriken; journalist and broadcaster Mark Lawson; engineer Per Lindstrand; teacher and journalist Kester Rattenbury; developer John Ritblat, of British Land; German structural engineer Jörg Schlaich; the development director of Derwent Valley Holdings Simon Silver; quantity surveyor Robert Smith, of David Langdon; broadcaster Jon Snow and fashion designer

Vivienne Westwood.

Speaking shortly after the announcement yesterday (29 September) Pringle said: 'It is with great pleasure that I welcome this impressive list of people to become Honorary Fellows of the RIBA. Every one of these new members of the institute has done so much for architecture and design - as client, artist, designer, photographer or commentator.

'Their work continues to be highly influential and, quite rightly, each is widely recognised as a 'benchmark' in their own field. I look forward to presenting them with their Honorary Fellowships next year.'

Both the Honorary Fellowships and he International Fellowships will be presented at a ceremony at Portland Place on 15 February next year.

by Richard Waite

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.