Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Amanda Levete awarded Jane Drew Prize

3003871 amanda levete copyright peter guenzel a4 300dpi
  • 1 Comment

Amanda Levete has won the 2018 AJ/AR Jane Drew Prize, whose previous recipients include Zaha Hadid and Denise Scott Brown

Meanwhile, OMA co-founder and artist Madelon Vriesendorp has won the 2018 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize.

Levete is the seventh winner of the revitalised Jane Drew Prize, an award recognising an architectural designer who, through their work and commitment to design excellence, has raised the profile of women in architecture.

She first made her name as half of Future Systems, a practice she ran with her then-husband Jan Kaplický with whom she designed the Lord’s Media Centre, winner of the 1999 RIBA Stirling Prize, as well as the futuristic Birmingham Selfridges.

038 the sackler courtyard, v&a exhibition road quarter, designed by al a ©hufton+crow

038 the sackler courtyard, v&a exhibition road quarter, designed by al a ©hufton+crow

Source: Hufton + Crow

The Sackler Courtyard by AL_A

She started her solo career less than a decade ago, setting up AL_A. The practice is best known for Lisbon’s Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology, which opened in 2016, and the V&A’s new courtyard and Sainsbury Gallery, which opened last year. Both projects feature complex ceramic tiling and open public spaces, reflecting Levete’s fascination with the sensuality of materials and her concern for the provision of social space in cities.

Ongoing commissions include the remodelling of the Parisian Galeries Lafayette Haussmann in Paris, a new centre for the cancer care charity Maggie’s in Southampton and the World Trade Center Mosque in Abu Dhabi.

Paul Finch, editorial director of the AJ and the Architectural Review said: ‘Amanda Levete is an architect whose career has been notable at several points, but whose independent practice has blossomed internationally, and whose independent voice has generated welcome debate and reform.’ 

Dutch artist Madelon Vriesendorp was named winner of the 2018 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize, which recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment.

Best known for her wonderful paintings, some of which illustrated Rem Koolhaas’s book Delirious New York, Vriesendorp co-founded the Office for Metropolitan Architecture with Koolhaas and Elia and Zoe Zenghelis in 1972, before taking a step away from architecture and focusing instead on the design of costumes, objects, illustrations, exhibitions and short stories.

Madelon vriesdendorp lo res

Madelon vriesdendorp lo res

Madelon Vriesdendorp

After hosting the exhibition The World of Madelon Vriesdendorp in 2008, the Architectural Association awarded Vriesendorp with an honorary diploma last June ‘in recognition of her extraordinary contribution to the imagination of architecture’.

Paul Finch said: ‘Madelon Vriesendorp is a rarity: a true artist who has a deep understanding of architecture and its protocols, and whose observant and witty work has provided a thoughtful visual counterpoint to the world of bricks and mortar.’

The Women in Architecture Awards, in association with The Architectural Review and the AJ, look to inspire change in the architectural profession by celebrating great design by women architects from around the world and promoting role models for young women in practice.

Women in Architecture Luncheon

Levete and Vriesendorp will both be speaking at the AJ/AR Women in Architecture Luncheon at Claridge’s on Friday 2 March, where the winners of the Architect of the Year and Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture will be announced – click here to view the shortlists, and here to book your seat at the event.

The Jane Drew Prize

A spirited advocate for women in a male-dominated profession, Jane Drew graduated from the Architectural Association in 1929 into a profession that was unwelcoming to women at best. She started her own practice after the Second World War, and her work played a substantial role in introducing the Modern Movement into the UK.

Last year, the prize was given to fearless female icon Denise Scott Brown, who is still fighting against a culture that assigned Venturi to the canon without her. Previous winners include Odile Decq, Grafton Architects’ founders Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, Zaha Hadid, Kathryn Findlay of Ushida Findlay and Eva Jiřičná.

The Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Ada Louise Huxtable made history by being the first full-time architecture critic at a US newspaper when she joined the New York Times, and was later awarded the first Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 1970. Sculptor Rachel Whiteread won the 2017 award for interrogating and materialising our psychic response to space through her artwork, exploring the universal in the particular. As critic Anthony Vidler put it, she is ‘faithful to a truly architectural project’. Former Serpentine Galleries director Julia Peyton-Jones and client and architectural patron Jane Priestman are the two previous recipients of the accolade.

  • 1 Comment

Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.