Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Alison Brooks' London housing only UK finalist for major Euro gong

  • Comment

Alison Brooks Architects’ RIBA Award-winning Ely Court in north west London is the only UK finalist chosen for the 2017 Mies van der Rohe Award

The 43-home scheme in South Kilburn made the five-strong shorlist alongside a museum in Poland by BBGK Architekci; a house in Denmark by Lundgaard & Tranberg Architects; a museum in France by Rudy Ricciotti and a block of flats in the Netherlands by NL Architects and XVW architectuur.

In December it was revealed that 19 schemes from the UK had made it on to a 356-strong longlist for the prestigious pan-European award. These included FAT’s A House for Essex; MUMA’s Whitworth Gallery in Manchester; Caruso St John’s Newport Street Gallery in London;  DRDH’s Stormen concert hall and library in Bodø in Norway, and AL_A’s MAAT cultural centre in Lisbon

The Mies van der Rohe Award, the biennial European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, is widely recognised as the highest accolade in European architecture and features a €60,000 (£51,000) top prize.

Stephen Bates, architect and chair of the jury said of the finalists: ’Our instincts could be summed up by the words of Peter Smithson: “things need to be ordinary and heroic at the same time”. We were looking for an ordinariness whose understated lyricism is full of potential.’

Founded in 1987, the biennial award recognises architectural excellence and promotes the role of European architects in developing new technologies and ideas.

Previous winners have included David Chipperfield’s Neues Museum in Berlin (2011), Stansted Airport by Norman Foster (1990) and Waterloo International railway station by Nicholas Grimshaw (1994).

The jury will visit the five finalists in April.

A winner will be announced on 26 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, Barcelona.

Alison Brooks Architects Ely Court Drawings8

Alison Brooks Architects Ely Court Drawings5


Alison brooks architects ely court drawings7

The finalists

  • Ely Court by Alison Brooks Architects
  • deFlat Kleiburg in Amesterdam, the Netherlands, by NL Architects and XVW architectuur
  • Kannikegården in Ribe, Denmark, by Lundgaard&Tranberg Architects
  • Katyn Museum in Warsaw, Poland, by BBGK Architekci
  • Rivesaltes Memorial Museum, France, by Rudy Ricciotti


  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more