Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

AJ100 Building of the Year 2020 shortlist revealed

The AJ can announce the nine buildings in the running for the prestigious AJ100 Building of the Year award

This year’s shortlist boasts an equal number of innovative retrofit projects and key new-build schemes from across a broad range of sectors, including two workplace projects: Allford Hall Monaghan Morris’s recasting of Peter Foggo’s 1 Finsbury Square office building in Broadgate and the Fletcher Priest-designed Brunel Building at Paddington.

Also on the shortlist are The Standard, London, by Orms, a hotel converted from a 1970s extension to Camden Town Hall, together with a new civic town hall in the shape of Sheppard Robson’s Hounslow House in West London. 

Two projects from the cultural sector are also in the running: Glenn Howells Architects’ English National Ballet HQ in East London; and the major rework of Leeds Playhouse by Page\Park. 

Other contenders for the sought-after prize are Feilden Clegg Bradley Studio’s Murrays’ Mills project in Ancoats, Manchester, a residential scheme which mixes the redevelopment of an 18th century cotton mill with key contextual new-build elements, the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London by Populous and WilkinsonEyre’s Dyson Institute of Engineering and Technology, an innovative modular student housing, which together make up the full shortlist. 

The sought-after award is given in recognition of the finest building completed by an AJ100-listed practice in the past 12 months. Last year’s winner was the transformation of London Bridge Station by Grimshaw.

The winners of all this year’s awards will be announced in September. 

The 2020 shortlist

  • 1 Finsbury Avenue by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Murrays’ Mills by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Brunel Building by Fletcher Priest
  • English National Ballet by Glenn Howells Architects
  • The Standard, London by Orms (lead consultant, envelope, shell and core architect); 
    Shawn Hausman Design (interior design); Archer Humphryes (interior architect) 
  • Leeds Playhouse by Page\Park
  • Tottenham Hotspur Stadium by Populous
  • Hounslow House by Sheppard Robson
  • Dyson Institute of Engineering and Technology by WilkinsonEyre