Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

AJ/Curtins inspiring graduate prize shortlist announced

  • Comment

Business-savvy graduates at FCBS and Hawkins\Brown among the quartet in the running for £1,000 bursary

A shortlist of four high-flying architecture graduates have been chosen for this year’s AJ/Curtins Inspiring graduate prize.

The prize, which is now in its second year, recognises an entrepreneurial Part 1 or Part 2 graduate who has made a significant impact on an architecture practice’s business or are demonstrating good business sense on an independent project.

The winner will receive a £1,000 bursary and a full profile in the AJ.

The four are:

  • Albena Atanassova of Scott Brownrigg
  • Richard Coskie of Hawkins\Brown
  • Charlotte Knight of Feilden Clegg Bradley Studio
  • Jayne Rosen of Tony Meadows Associates

They will now present to a judging panel including former RIBA president Stephen Hodder, founder and creative director of Urban Splash Jonathan Falkingham and Levitt Bernstein associate director Victoria Turner in Manchester on Thursday November 24 before a winner is announced at the AJ100 Lunch held at the city’s Lowry Hotel the following day.

The prize is supported by engineering firm Curtins and inspired by the ethos of its late founder Bill Curtin.

Executive Director of Curtins and judge Jon Moister, said: ‘We’re delighted to be a part of this terrific award, recognising the talent of architectural graduates in the work place.

‘The contribution they can and do make to a business must not be under-estimated and should be celebrated and rewarded. We are very aware of this and have always invested much time and energy in nurturing young staff to enable them to reach their full potential.’

Last year the prize was won by Vanessa Lee of BuckleyGrayYeoman.

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.