Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

AJ exclusive: Finalists in Croydon iStreet competition revealed

Teams featuring architects vPPR and Tate Harmer have been named on the six-strong shortlist in the Croydon iStreet competition

They are joined among the finalists by collaborations between McGregor Coxall and Denton Corker Marshall, landscape architect CW Studio with Falconer Chester Hall and Swedish technology consultant Tyréns with Hawkins\Brown and Jason Bruges Studio. The shortlist is completed by Atkins London (see full team details below).

Backed by Croydon Council and organised by the AJ, the free-to-enter competition was launched in April this year in a bid to find innovative technology-led proposals to transform the public realm within the major south London town centre.

The contest received more than 60 submissions from teams of architects, technology experts, urban planners and landscape designers based around the world.

The brief for the commission – which has a £2 million guide budget – called for deliverable ideas to challenge Croydon’s post-war streetscape, upgrade pedestrian movement and wayfinding, and simultaneously provide visitors with information about upcoming local events.

Councillor Alison Butler, Croydon Council cabinet member for homes, regeneration and planning and the council’s deputy leader, said: ‘We had a range of fascinating entries, all of which were of a high standard and made shortlisting quite a difficult task.

‘We are really excited to see the chosen designs developed further and to learn more about how they will assist people navigate around Croydon as regeneration in the borough intensifies.’

Shortlisted teams

  • Atkins London
  • Connected Space, Rise Gallery, Tate Harmer & Lighting Partners
  • CW Studio with Falconer Chester Hall, Chris Mullany Creative Technologist, Light Collective, Vestre Street Furniture & Hardscape
  • McGregor Coxall (UK) with Denton Corker Marshall, 18 Degrees, Wolfströme, Millimetre, Momentum Transport and Intellectsoft
  • Tyréns with Hawkins\Brown, Jason Bruges Studio and Fourth Street
  • Twelve Studio with vPPR

The contest forms part of the borough’s £350 million Growth Zone programme, which is being delivered with the Mayor of London and is made up of 39 key projects, including transport, schools and community infrastructure, regeneration and public realm improvements, and support for small businesses.

Croydon route map

Croydon route map

1. West Croydon Station 2. Station Road – looking north down London Road 3. North End at junction with Poplar Street – looking south 4. North End – looking south to Centrale shopping centre (right) 5. North End – Whitgift shopping centre 6. North End – looking south to almshouse (left) 7. George Street – left turn from North End 8. George Street – tram stop looking east 9. Park Lane – viewed from George Street/Wellesley Road junction 10. Park Lane – view south 11. Park Lane – view south. College Road on left 12. Park Lane – Croydon College 13. Fairfield Halls

The competition focused on a key pedestrian route leading from West Croydon station to the 1962 Fairfield Halls and taking in North End, George Street and Park Lane.

Landmarks along the route include the Centrale and Whitgift Shopping Centre, the Grade I-listed Whitgift Almshouses, Nestlé’s abandoned Ronald Ward-designed former headquarters and the Art Deco Grade II-listed Segas House.

The council wanted solutions that were workable, cost-effective and promote physical interaction with the chosen streets. 

Competition judges include Allford Hall Monaghan Morris director Paul Monaghan, BBC journalist Razia Iqbal, Croydon chief executive Jo Negrini; the deputy leader of Croydon Council and the borough’s cabinet member for homes, regeneration and planning, Alison Butler; Sarah Luxford, director at Nexec Leaders; and AJ news editor Richard Waite.

Each of the shortlisted teams receives a £2,000 honorarium to participate in the competition’s second stage. The winning project will have the opportunity to be developed into a fully functional scheme rolled out across Croydon.

Final judging will be held at the end of this month (26 July), with the victorious team announced in August. Designs by all of the shortlisted teams will be published in the AJ next month. 

Related Jobs

Discover architecture career opportunities. Search and apply online for your dream job.
Find out more