Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

AJ Architecture Awards 2019 winner: Refurb

  • Comment

Science Gallery London by LTS Architects has been named best refurb project at the 2019 AJ Architecture Awards

‘This scheme looks like genuinely flexible space,’ said one judge of this new free-to-visit gallery in London Bridge. Part of King’s College London and housed in the existing Grade II*-listed Boland House, the project aims to provide an interactive and reconfigurable place for hosting exhibitions and events.

Eighty-five per cent of the existing building fabric has been retained with only the internal partitions, toilets and some sections of the floor slab removed. The building’s entrance has been altered to make it feel more accessible and open, while the original Georgian courtyard has been re-established as a fully public space.

The judges were particularly impressed by the scheme’s carbon strategy. ‘From a sustainable design perspective, the scheme has tackled all of the bottom-line issues – social, economic and environmental,’ they said. 

Intensive post-occupancy monitoring is already taking place despite the project’s infancy, with regular workshops between the design team and users. ‘It is obvious that they have really thought about carbon and making the biggest impact,’ said one judge. The judges also commended the scheme for demonstrating exceptional collaboration between the design team. ‘It looked to be a great client and architect relationship,’ they said, concluding: ‘This is a very worthwhile project for the wider community’. 


  • The Bower by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • The van Hasselt Centre by Allies and Morrison
  • Merchants Hall by Ben Adams Architects
  • Dept W by BuckleyGrayYeoman
  • The Anning Rooms, Natural History Museum by Dannatt Johnson Architects
  • Axtell Soho by Darling Associates
  • Willowbrook by Paul Archer Design
  • Tintagel House by Universal Design Studio        


  • Duncan Baker-Brown, director, BBM Sustainable Design
  • Clara Bagenal George, senior engineer, Elementa Consulting
  • Chris Harding, chairman, BDP
  • Shankari Raj, founder and architect, Nudge Group

Sponsored by

Vmzinc lg

  • Comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.